Christian Books, Bibles, Music & More - 1.888.395.0572
Call our Toll Free Number:
Find us on:
Follow Us On 

Twitter!   Join Us On Facebook!

Christian Bookstore .Net is a leading online Christian book store.

Shop Christian Books, Bibles, Jewelry, Church Supplies, Homeschool Curriculum & More!

Wind River [Paperback]

By Tom Morrisey (Author)
Our Price $ 11.89  
Retail Value $ 13.99  
You Save $ 2.10  (15%)  
Item Number 85312  
Buy New $11.89
Out Of Stock!
Discontinued - Out Of Print
The manufacturer has discontinued this product and no longer offers it for sale. We are unable to obtain more stock.

Item Specifications...

Pages   352
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.54" Width: 6.02" Height: 0.83"
Weight:   0.56 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Jul 1, 2008
ISBN  0764203479  
EAN  9780764203473  

Availability  0 units.

Item Description...
Desperate to forget what happened to him in Iraq, Tyler Perkins flees to the emptiness of Wyoming. He's here to escape and also to fulfill a long-ago promise by accompanying his 86-year-old friend Soren Andeman on a fly-fishing trip?once more for old time's sake.
But their trek to an idyllic trout lake soon becomes something more deeply harrowing?a journey that uncovers long-held lies, deadly crimes, and the buried secrets of the past. Ty barely has time to contemplate the question of what constitutes justice when nature unleashes her own revenge. Trapped in a race back to safety, he must face his own guilt-ridden past or risk being consumed.

Buy Wind River by Tom Morrisey from our Christian Books store - isbn: 9780764203473 & 0764203479

The team at Christian Bookstore .Net welcome you to our Christian Book store! We offer the best selections of Christian Books, Bibles, Christian Music, Inspirational Jewelry and Clothing, Homeschool curriculum, and Church Supplies. We encourage you to purchase your copy of Wind River by Tom Morrisey today - and if you are for any reason not happy, you have 30 days to return it. Please contact us at 1-877-205-6402 if you have any questions.

More About Tom Morrisey

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Tom Morrisey is a mountaineer, aviator, shipwreck diver, and explorer, who holds a Full Cave certification from the National Speleological society - Cave Diving Section. He has launched, edited or contributed to numerous national publications and is an award-winning adventure travel writer. A popular speaker, he is also active in both youth and prison ministry. Morrisey earned an MFA in creative writing from Bowling Green State University, and his fiction has been featured in numerous anthologies and magazines. His previous novel, Yucatan Deep, was a 2003 finalist for the Christy Award. He and his family live in Orlando, Florida.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories
1Books > Subjects > Children's Books > Religions > Fiction > Christian   [6261  similar products]
2Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Contemporary   [79254  similar products]
3Books > Subjects > Mystery & Thrillers > Thrillers > Suspense   [7653  similar products]
4Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Fiction > General   [6034  similar products]
5Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Fiction   [287  similar products]
6Suspense   [0  similar products]

Similar Products

Reviews - What do our customers think?
Set the world aside for a while  Dec 13, 2009
Tyler Perkins has been married five years but with his wife less than a year total, fought in both Afghanistan and Iraq, and returned home with a survivor's guilt that is eating away at both his marriage and his life. Now a postcard from an old friend beckons him to return to his roots in Wyoming at a place called Wind River. Encouraged by his desperate wife, Tyler drives across country to fulfill a promise he made as a boy to the old man who taught him about fly fishing, the mountains, and life.

At first glance, Wind River is a gentle buddy story. It is the story of one man (Soren) who at 86 knows this is his last chance to visit the high country he has photographed and mapped for years and a boy become a man (Tyler) who in some ways wishes he had never left. If you don't care for the rugged back country, tales of rogue grizzlies, and laying on your back with nothing but the stars for a nightlight some of the chapters may grow a bit tedious. Or perhaps it would do you well to slow down for a moment and see things through Soren's and Tyler's eyes. If you take the time you will discover two men whose secrets and wounds run deeper than the clear lake about to be named after the old man.

Don't let the pace or setting fool you though. Tyler has returned from war with guilt not only for what he has done but for what others have done for him. And just when you think this story is all about Tyler finding some kind of resolution you discover it is the old man who has ulterior motives for returning to the mountains he so loves. Tom Morrisey's life as a world class rock climber, cave diver, and all-around adventurer shines through in this gentle yet powerful story of self-discovery and forgiveness. So set the world aside for a few hours and join Tyler and Soren at a place called Wind River.
Heartbreaking beautiful tale of nature & nurture  Sep 4, 2008
Reviewed by Nikki Pringle for Reader Views (8/08)

Tyler Perkins grew up among the vast mountains, valleys, and lakes of Wyoming. He used to go fly fishing with a man named Soren Andeman who had become like a father to him after his own was gone. On one trip, Ty made a promise to come back one day when Soren was older to take him on one last fishing trip. Years later, Ty joins the Marines and serves in both Afghanistan and Iraq during the wars. He comes back to his new home in Virginia a different man than the one he was before he left. He is uncommunicative and inattentive to his wife and is having a hard time letting go of the past and looking towards the future. When he receives an unexpected postcard from Soren, now eighty-six-years old and still living in the Wyoming backcountry, Ty decides to take a trip out West to take his old fishing buddy on one last adventure, as he had promised all those years before.

What was supposed to be a relaxing escape from everyday life turns into more than Ty bargained for when old lies, betrayals, and long-buried secrets come rushing to the surface like a brown trout rising in a cold mountain stream. When the men's stories are shared, Ty must contemplate what justice and forgiveness really means, not just for himself, but for those around him here in Wyoming and back in Virginia. The trip home turns in to a desperate life or death struggle. Perhaps nature is trying to take matters in to its own hands with an act of God that will ensure justice at last.

"Wind River" is as breathtaking as the vistas Tom Morrisey so eloquently describes. He does more than ample justice to his novel's location and to the characters that he had developed so richly. "Wind River" is a tale of returning to ones roots, both spiritual and real, and having the ability to look deep inside to find the answers to making things right that no one else can give. I found myself lost in this tale of nature and nurture and was enthralled by the beauty that Morrisey led me to imagine as clearly as if I was actually there through his wonderful storytelling. I recommend "Wind River" to any reader who is looking for something captivating and beautiful to add to their reading list.

Beautiful, Haunting, Powerful  Jul 10, 2008

Tom Morrisey enticed me with beautiful prose that opened a window into an unknown-to-me wilderness. With wordsmithing magic, Morrisey teased my mind -- flicking facts, thoughts and tension onto the periphery, then slipping out of sight until I was poised, waiting, tensing for the next cast. I was hooked early, but instead of fighting like the cutthroats, I surrendered to this novel.

I knew, from the first scene, the foreboding shadows of finality and frailty and perfect snapshot moments dissolving into tarnished reality, that something awful would befall the characters that I had already begun to love. Anything else will spoil the story web that Morrisey weaves, except to say that though there is a sense of foreboding, there is a stronger, underlying hope.

It is a rare gift Mr. Morrisey possesses -- the ability to weave a tense plot, the clarity to write a scene that can be devoured with all five senses, and the heart to create characters that clutch at the reader's soul.

If you are not reading Tom Morrisey and you love literary novels, you need to get Wind River regardless of your stance on Christian Fiction. Book lovers need to investigate Morrisey's novels. Those looking for a man's man read need to look no further. Fans of Lief Enger, W. Dale Cramer and Charles Martin should find much to like in Wind River.
excellent inspirational thriller  Jul 2, 2008
His time in combat in Iraq still haunts Tyler Perkins; just ask his beleaguered wife Angela. Thus he has a second reason to take his octogenarian friend Soren Andeman fly fishing; the first being he promised to do so. The pair travels to WIND RIVER, Idaho for some getaway time.

However, the R&R that Tyler expected is nuked when Soren reveals the real reason he wanted to come to Wind River, a place he has been to before. His dark secret frightens Tyler and if revealed could hurt those nearby including someone special to the eighty-six years old man. However, before he can come to grips with what Soren told him, the weather turns ugly making this respite into a battle of survival.

This is an excellent buddy tale as an elderly honorable man with a troubling secret, a just as honorable vet with post traumatic stress disorder and the weather make for a deep character driven thriller. The story line is driven by the duel fuels of doing the right thing and surviving. Readers will relish this compelling tale as two men decades apart in age seek forgiveness and redemption in the wilderness, but as they battle to survive realize where they must truly go to achieve atonement. WIND RIVER is an excellent inspirational thriller.

Harriet Klausner

Write your own review about Wind River

Customer Support: 1-888-395-0572
Welcome to Christian Bookstore .Net

Our team at Christian Bookstore .Net would like to welcome you to our site. Our Christian book store features over 150,000 Christian products including Bibles, Christian music, Christian books, jewelry, church supplies, Christian gifts, Sunday school curriculum, purity rings, homeschool curriculum and many other items to encourage you in your walk with God. Our mission is to provide you with quality Christian resources that you can benefit from and share with others. The best part is that our complete selection of Christian books and supplies is offered at up to 20% off of retail price! Please call us if you have any questions or need assistance in ordering at 1-888-395-0572. Have a blessed day.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Customer Support