Christian Books, Bibles, Music & More - 1.888.395.0572
Call our Toll Free Number:
Find us on:
Follow Us On 

Twitter!   Join Us On Facebook!

Christian Bookstore .Net is a leading online Christian book store.

Shop Christian Books, Bibles, Jewelry, Church Supplies, Homeschool Curriculum & More!

Unfinished Tales of Numenor and Middle-Earth [Paperback]

Our Price $ 13.56  
Retail Value $ 15.95  
You Save $ 2.39  (15%)  
Item Number 53939  
Buy New $13.56
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock

Item Specifications...

Pages   472
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 1.5" Width: 5.5" Height: 8.25"
Weight:   1.2 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Sep 1, 2001
Publisher   Houghton Mifflin
ISBN  0618154051  
EAN  9780618154050  

Availability  0 units.

Alternate Formats List Price Our Price Item Number Availability
Hardcover $ 26.00 $ 22.10 3037934 In Stock
Mass Market Paperback $ 7.99 $ 6.79 158698 In Stock
Mass Market Paperback $ 7.99 $ 6.79 158698 In Stock
Paperback $ 15.95 $ 13.56 53939
Item Description...
Collected by Tolkien's son, these tales further explore the legendary Middle-earth, including its languages, legends, politics, and kings, and ranging temporally from the Elder Days of The Silmarillion through the War of the Rings. Simultaneous.

Publishers Description
A New York Times bestseller for twenty-one weeks upon publication, UNFINISHED TALES is a collection of narratives ranging in time from the Elder Days of Middle-earth to the end of the War of the Ring, and further relates events as told in THE SILMARILLION and THE LORD OF THE RINGS.
The book concentrates on the lands of Middle-earth and comprises Gandalf's lively account of how he came to send the Dwarves to the celebrated party at Bag-End, the story of the emergence of the sea-god Ulmo before the eyes of Tuor on the coast of Beleriand, and an exact description of the military organization of the Riders of Rohan and the journey of the Black Riders during the hunt for the Ring.
UNFINISHED TALES also contains the only surviving story about the long ages of Númenor before its downfall, and all that is known about the Five Wizards sent to Middle-earth as emissaries of the Valar, about the Seeing Stones known as the Palantiri, and about the legend of Amroth.

Buy Unfinished Tales of Numenor and Middle-Earth by J. R. R. Tolkien & Christopher Tolkien from our Christian Books store - isbn: 9780618154050 & 0618154051

The team at Christian Bookstore .Net welcome you to our Christian Book store! We offer the best selections of Christian Books, Bibles, Christian Music, Inspirational Jewelry and Clothing, Homeschool curriculum, and Church Supplies. We encourage you to purchase your copy of Unfinished Tales of Numenor and Middle-Earth by J. R. R. Tolkien & Christopher Tolkien today - and if you are for any reason not happy, you have 30 days to return it. Please contact us at 1-877-205-6402 if you have any questions.

More About J. R. R. Tolkien & Christopher Tolkien

J. R. R. Tolkien John Ronald Reuel Tolkien was born on January 3, 1892, in Bloemfontein, South Africa. After serving in World War I, he embarked upon a distinguished academic career and was recognized as one of the finest philologists in the world. He was a professor of Anglo-Saxon at Oxford, a fellow of Pembroke College, and a fellow of Merton College until his retirement in 1959. He is, however, beloved throughout the world as the creator of Middle-earth and author of such classic works as The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. He died on September 2, 1973, at the age of 81.

J. R. R. Tolkien was born in 1892 and died in 1973.

J. R. R. Tolkien has published or released items in the following series...
  1. Histories of Middle-Earth
  2. History of Middle-Earth (Hardcover)
  3. History of Middle-Earth (Paperback)
  4. History of Middle-Earth; The History of the Lord of the Ring
  5. History of the Lord of the Rings; The History of Middle-Eart
  6. Lord of the Rings
  7. Lord of the Rings (Audio)
  8. Lord of the Rings (Hardcover)
  9. Lord of the Rings (Promotional Product)
  10. Sauron Defeated
  11. Senor de los Anillos

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories
1Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Contemporary   [79254  similar products]
2Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Literary   [150469  similar products]
3Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > Short Stories > British   [713  similar products]
4Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Christian Living > General   [31520  similar products]
5Books > Subjects > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Authors, A-Z > ( T ) > Tolkien, Christopher   [70  similar products]
6Books > Subjects > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Authors, A-Z > ( T ) > Tolkien, J.R.R. > General   [66  similar products]
7Books > Subjects > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Authors, A-Z > ( T ) > Tolkien, J.R.R. > Paperback   [33  similar products]
8Books > Subjects > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy > General   [8979  similar products]

Similar Products

Reviews - What do our customers think?
Good for Tolkien Fans  Jun 26, 2006
found Unfinished Tales to be a pretty good book. It is more piecemeal than the completed novels, The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings and The Silmarillion, which was in progress when J.R.R. Tolkien died. The Silmarillion was pulled together and edited by his son Christopher.

The book is separated into four sections. The first section is the First Age and contains stories on the coming of Tuor to Gondolin and the tale of Hurin's Children. The Tale of Hurin's children in touched on in the Silmarillion but this story is much more in-depth and while fans of the Tolkien mythologies know is a tragic tale this version is most complete.

The second section of the book is the Second Age and focuses much on the Numenor. There is a description of the island of Numenor. This section contains the tale of the Mariner's Wife, which is another great and tragic story among the tales of Middle-Earth. There is a section on various kings of Numenor and a History of Galadriel and Celeborn. I found the history of Galadriel very interesting, and full of information that made events in later tales more meaningful

The third section of Unfinished Tales is the Third Age. This portion of the book contains: The Disaster on the Gladden Fields, a history on the relationship between Gondor and Rohan, The Quest for Erebor, a portion on the hunt for the One Ring, And the Battles of the Rods of Isen, which ultimately lead to the death of Theodred, the son of King Thoden. This section of the book had lots of additional information for fans of The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbits to consume and make their enjoyment of the stories that much fuller.

The fourth and final section of the book contains sections on the Druedain (or Wild Men), the Istari (or Wizards) and the palantiri (or seeing stones). This section was also very valuable in adding information to the Lord of the Rings. I was very fond of the story The Faithful Stone and found the history of the Wild Men more colorful than expected. My suspicions about the origin of the Istari were validated in this section of the book as well. And my understanding of the palantiri went up substantially from near zero.

Overall I would suggest this book to any Tolkien fan after reading at least the Lord of the Rings but better to have read the Hobbit and Silmarillion to get the most out of the tales and told in Unfinished Tales. Unfortunately, the stories are unfinished and in a few cases I found myself really wanting more but that's just the way it goes.

Unfinished Tales  May 30, 2006
Unfinished Tales was a great book. My favorit story was Narn Hin Hurin. Its a great story and it realy held my interist.I would hiley recomend it to not just any Tolkien fan but anybody who loves a good long fantasy book.
ESSENTIAL for fans of the silimarilion, and book of lost tales.  Mar 11, 2006
This book is part of the order in which I have people read the lord when they ask me to borrow it.

My order goeas like this, I have people read the silmarillion, but before, let me put this in order, sorry
1.)the silmarillion(not the whole thing)
2.)now stop before you read the fall of gondolin, and read unfinished tales, tuor's journey to find the gate, it ends with ecthelion giving tuor and vorondel greetings.
3.)then read the fall of gondolin from book of lost tales 2
4.)then after you have read the whole story, you can read the silmarillion version for a quick recap.
5.)read rest of silmarillion, but the last chapter called 'Of the Rings of Power and the Third Age' SHOULD NOT BE READ YET. It is a very good writing, but it would spoil the entire Lord of the Rings experience.
7.) then of course you would finally read the lord of the rings. of the 3 people I have let have this particular experience, 2 told me it was worth all the reading beforehand, 1 said he would have rather read the lord, then experienced the silmarillion. It's not like I forced it upon them, but don't try to have an old man go through all this like my grandpa, anyone else I think would have liked the 7 step process of getting the full experience, and then again, I could be COMPLETELY wrong.

This book has plenty of stuff for you lord of the rings fans who did not care for the silmarillion, isulder and the things he did when he had the RING, the original ride of the rohirrum, and an odd story about galadriel and celeborn. Since I am at work, and this is pretty much all I do at work is review stuff(mainly kungfu), I don't have the book in fromt of me, but I reread it at least every 2-3 years. This book is FILLED with great stuff from what I can remember, even though I have only listed a few of them.
The missing piece to the Silmarrilion, which is the missing piece to the Lord of the Rings  Feb 25, 2006
For all who are genuinely interested in either mythology, Tolkein, or both, this provides another conversation with Professor Tolkein; another avenue for continuing the friendship which begun in reading his other works. Although he would not necessarily agree with the following statement, the more works one reads of an author, the more he understands him. This book is probably best for those who are truly seeking more of the world of Tolkein's Middle Earth, and all other readers will find it unsympathetic to passing whims of fast fantasy.
amazing  Feb 7, 2006
He never stops amazing me. I read and I read his books. This is a must read for everyone. BUY IT NOW. You will love it. The exquisit detail even in the very first story amazes me. I read it three times for the detail

Write your own review about Unfinished Tales of Numenor and Middle-Earth

Customer Support: 1-888-395-0572
Welcome to Christian Bookstore .Net

Our team at Christian Bookstore .Net would like to welcome you to our site. Our Christian book store features over 150,000 Christian products including Bibles, Christian music, Christian books, jewelry, church supplies, Christian gifts, Sunday school curriculum, purity rings, homeschool curriculum and many other items to encourage you in your walk with God. Our mission is to provide you with quality Christian resources that you can benefit from and share with others. The best part is that our complete selection of Christian books and supplies is offered at up to 20% off of retail price! Please call us if you have any questions or need assistance in ordering at 1-888-395-0572. Have a blessed day.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Customer Support