Christian Books, Bibles, Music & More - 1.888.395.0572
Call our Toll Free Number:
Find us on:
Follow Us On 

Twitter!   Join Us On Facebook!

Christian Bookstore .Net is a leading online Christian book store.

Shop Christian Books, Bibles, Jewelry, Church Supplies, Homeschool Curriculum & More!

Total Truth: Liberating Christianity from Its Cultural Captivity [Hardcover]

By Nancy R. Pearcey (Author)
Our Price $ 21.25  
Retail Value $ 25.00  
You Save $ 3.75  (15%)  
Item Number 15481  
Buy New $21.25
Out Of Stock!
Discontinued - Out Of Print
The manufacturer has discontinued this product and no longer offers it for sale. We are unable to obtain more stock.

Item Specifications...

Pages   479
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.8" Width: 5.9" Height: 1.6"
Weight:   177 lbs.
Binding  Hardcover
Release Date   Jul 1, 2004
Publisher   Crossway Books/Good News
ISBN  1581344589  
EAN  9781581344585  

Availability  0 units.

Alternate Formats List Price Our Price Item Number Availability
Audio CD $ 24.98 $ 21.98 109199 In Stock
Hardcover $ 25.00 $ 21.25 15481
Paperback $ 23.99 $ 20.39 84242 In Stock
Item Description...
Should your faith affect your views on a national welfare system or science education? Some Christians say yes, but there is rarely a real connection between what we believe and how we live. We struggle to apply a biblical worldview to issues related to business, politics, science, and culture, but we do not know how.
Nancy R. Pearcy shows readers how to construct a biblical worldview that equips them to live out their faith, understanding current ideologies such as materialism and evolution. Exposing the key barriers to "thinking Christianly," she provides a framework for biblical faith as a system that applies to every aspect of life and offers a way to live a fully integrated Christian life.

Buy Total Truth: Liberating Christianity from Its Cultural Captivity by Nancy R. Pearcey from our Christian Books store - isbn: 9781581344585 & 1581344589

The team at Christian Bookstore .Net welcome you to our Christian Book store! We offer the best selections of Christian Books, Bibles, Christian Music, Inspirational Jewelry and Clothing, Homeschool curriculum, and Church Supplies. We encourage you to purchase your copy of Total Truth: Liberating Christianity from Its Cultural Captivity by Nancy R. Pearcey today - and if you are for any reason not happy, you have 30 days to return it. Please contact us at 1-877-205-6402 if you have any questions.

More About Nancy R. Pearcey

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! NANCY R. PEARCEY, is Senior Fellow at The Discovery Institute and a regular commentator on "Public Square Radio." She is co-author of several books, including ECPA Gold Medallion winner How Now Shall We Live? (with Charles Colson) and Crossway's The Soul of Science. She speaks frequently about Christian worldview issues around the world.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories
1Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Authors, A-Z > ( J ) > Johnson, Phillip E.   [9  similar products]
2Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Christian Living > General   [31520  similar products]
3Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Theology > Apologetics   [1450  similar products]

Similar Products
How Now Shall We Live?
How Now Shall We Live?
Item: 7895

Reviews - What do our customers think?
"Less than Total"  Aug 12, 2005
At the risk of raising the hackles of my Reformed brothers and sisters in Christ who have written glowing reviews of "Total Truth," I am adding a cautionary note, at least regarding Pearcey's philosophical expertise.

While there is much of value in this book, and while I hold great sympathety for Pearcey's project, readers need to be aware that Pearcey's own Reformed presuppositions (or should I say the influence of Shaeffer and Dooyeweerd) determine what she regards as the Christian worldview. This leads her to collapse both Plato and Aristotle into one homogenous category (!), which she refers to as "Greek Philosophy," and to grossly misinterpret Thomas Aquinas, blaming him as one of the culprits responsible for the "fact-value distinction." At least in these areas, Pearcey gives us straw instead of meat.

This would have been a much stronger book if she had first spoken with people like Dr. Fred Freddoso or Dr. Ralph McInerny of the University of Notre Dame; or Dr. Peter Kreeft or Dr. Laura Garcia of Boston College, to get her story straight about Thomas' actual view of nature and grace.

Cultural analysis in the tradtion of Fancis Schaeffer  Aug 9, 2005
Pearcy's book is a must read for those who want to get beyond the simplistic diatribes against "pop-culture" that passes for much of evangelical cultural analysis. Not as deep as Carson's "Gagging of God" but, in the tradition of Francis Schaeffer, Pearcy does an excellent job of guiding the reader through the difficulties of trying to "think Christianly" (I guess that's Blamires) at a time when "thinking" is decidedly unappreciated and what it means to be Christian is decidedly nebulous (that's sort of an oxymoron isn't it?).
In my opinion anything that can help the Church of Jesus Christ "think" is a must read.
excellent teaching   Aug 4, 2005
Pearcey's book is great. It practically offers a full college level course in just 400 pages of easy to read, very substantial content. If you master this book, you will be equipped with a solid theological method, and you will know enough about intelligent design to understand why President Bush has endorsed its being taught in public schools alongside the theory of evolution. You will also hear a fair description of women and the feminist movement--a message which anti-feminist evangelicals need to hear. Her treatment of evangelicals, in general, is quite sympathetic and yet constructively critical as well. Overall, this book is superb. (I'm even planning to give a copy to one of my atheist friends.) The only drawback of the book is that Pearcey argues for fathers to be the "primary" caregivers of their children. In other words, she fails to hold high the biblical mandate for children to listen to BOTH their father AND mother, to honor BOTH their father AND mother. Though my disappointment with that aspect of the book is significant, I applaud just about everything else, including her remarks about the need for (and lack of) integrity in too many Christian leaders. If you only have funds to buy one book, get this one.
Required Worldview Boot Camp  Aug 2, 2005
Why are American Evangelicals so stupefied, uninformed, and theologically illiterate? Why are there so few public intellectuals thoughtful Christians? Why is so much preaching so thin, weak, emotional, and decision oriented? Why do many Evangelical seminaries fail to require a basic apologetics class for their Master of Divinity students? Why do Evangelicals typically know nothing of creeds, confessions, and the history of theology or philosophy? And what can be done about this abysmal state of affairs?

Nancy Pearcey, an independent writer and editor who formally co-wrote material with Charles Colson, answers these questions in a conversational, anecdote-rich, yet intellectually solid fashion. As student of Francis Schaeffer (and the Reformed Tradition in general), she explains the meaning of a "worldview," develops the concept of a Christian worldview, explains why Evangelicals have lost a biblical worldview (creation/fall/redemption) and how their thinking tends to be wrongly divided into the secular and the sacred. But Christ is Lord over the entire creation and Lord over the intellect as well. Thinking well is part of divine worship.

Pearcey's treatment of Darwinism and Intelligent design is the best introduction to this vital topic I have seen. She, unlike many Evangelicals, realizes that Darwinism is incompatible with Christianity and that Darwinism is rooted in and fueled by philosophical materialism, not by the empirical facts of science. She has labored fruitfully for many years in this area.

I have used "Total Truth" for a seminary course called Christian Ethics and Modern Culture, although it could be used at the college level as well--or even for more precocious high school students preparing for the intellectual warfare of college life. Even Schaefferites and academic philosophers such as me will find thought-provoking and beneficial material in what is essentially an introductory book.

The book, however, is flawed in a few ways. Pearcey at times sounds like a fideist (in spite of herself), especially when she speaks of worldviews being based on what cannot be proven. What she needs is a version of foundationalism in which basic beliefs are either self-evident, logically necessary, inescapable, or incorrigible. Then one reasons from those beliefs to other beliefs. One may then verify or falsify worldviews on the basis of these foundational beliefs. Worldviews can be tested for truth according to (1) the coherence of their defining beliefs (2) the factual adequacy of their claims and (3) whether or not the worldview can be lived out without deep philosophical hypocrisy. Pearcey address this third test very nicely on page 220. Pearcey engages in this type of intellectual critique, but her foundation is wanting in some respects.

I could carp about a few other more minor issues, but my primary concern some of her comments on epistemology, as noted. The Dooyeweerdian school from which she draws (and who, along with Van Til, influenced Schaeffer himself) is weak in this area, despite the richness of its critique of non-Christian schools of thought.

All in all, I heartily recommend "Total Truth" as a powerful antidote to "truth decay." So, please: Turn off the television, turn off the video games, take out the iPod, and read this book as soon as possible. Then give copies out to your friends.
It makes you think  Jul 12, 2005
It is a sprawling book. It covers world views, Evangelical Christian theology and history, Intelligent Design, women's roles, and other topics. The author wants you think about if Christianity is true, to quote Schaeffer, "How Should We Then Live?" She is a fan of Schaeffer and C. S. Lewis. She uses Schaeffer's model of the history of culture as the basis of her own model. I do not agree with all the conclusions the author makes, but the book does make me think through how to live more consistently with my Christian world view. The author challenges the reader to think and tries to bring Jesus Christ into every aspect of the reader's life.

The writer's style is very readable. It is a long book; however, it is hard to put down.

Write your own review about Total Truth: Liberating Christianity from Its Cultural Captivity

Customer Support: 1-888-395-0572
Welcome to Christian Bookstore .Net

Our team at Christian Bookstore .Net would like to welcome you to our site. Our Christian book store features over 150,000 Christian products including Bibles, Christian music, Christian books, jewelry, church supplies, Christian gifts, Sunday school curriculum, purity rings, homeschool curriculum and many other items to encourage you in your walk with God. Our mission is to provide you with quality Christian resources that you can benefit from and share with others. The best part is that our complete selection of Christian books and supplies is offered at up to 20% off of retail price! Please call us if you have any questions or need assistance in ordering at 1-888-395-0572. Have a blessed day.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Customer Support