Christian Books, Bibles, Music & More - 1.888.395.0572
Call our Toll Free Number:
Find us on:
Follow Us On 

Twitter!   Join Us On Facebook!

Christian Bookstore .Net is a leading online Christian book store.

Shop Christian Books, Bibles, Jewelry, Church Supplies, Homeschool Curriculum & More!

There Are No Children Here: The Story of Two Boys Growing Up in The Other America [Paperback]

Our Price $ 13.60  
Retail Value $ 16.00  
You Save $ 2.40  (15%)  
Item Number 158225  
Buy New $13.60

Item Specifications...

Pages   336
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.04" Width: 5.18" Height: 0.7"
Weight:   0.7 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Jan 5, 1992
Publisher   Anchor
ISBN  0385265565  
EAN  9780385265560  

Availability  21 units.
Availability accurate as of Oct 20, 2016 03:55.
Usually ships within one to two business days from La Vergne, TN.
Orders shipping to an address other than a confirmed Credit Card / Paypal Billing address may incur and additional processing delay.

Alternate Formats List Price Our Price Item Number Availability
MP3 CD $ 29.95 $ 25.46 933095 In Stock
Paperback $ 16.00 $ 13.60 158225 In Stock
Item Description...
Examines the lives of two inner-city brothers who live in a Chicago housing project and their daily struggle for survival and enduring hope

Publishers Description
This is the moving and powerful account of two  remarkable boys struggling to survive in Chicago's  Henry Horner Homes, a public housing complex  disfigured by crime and neglect.
"Alex Kotlowitz  joins the ranks of the important few writers on the  subiect of urban poverty." --  Chicago Tribune.

Buy There Are No Children Here: The Story of Two Boys Growing Up in The Other America by Alex Kotlowitz from our Christian Books store - isbn: 9780385265560 & 0385265565

The team at Christian Bookstore .Net welcome you to our Christian Book store! We offer the best selections of Christian Books, Bibles, Christian Music, Inspirational Jewelry and Clothing, Homeschool curriculum, and Church Supplies. We encourage you to purchase your copy of There Are No Children Here: The Story of Two Boys Growing Up in The Other America by Alex Kotlowitz today - and if you are for any reason not happy, you have 30 days to return it. Please contact us at 1-877-205-6402 if you have any questions.

More About Alex Kotlowitz

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! ALEX KOTLOWITZ is the author of The Other Side of the River and There Are No Children Here, which was selected as one of the 150 most important books of the century by the New York Public Library. He lives in Chicago.

Alex Kotlowitz currently resides in Chicago, in the state of Illinois.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories
1Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Contemporary   [79254  similar products]
2Books > Subjects > Nonfiction > Social Sciences > Children's Studies   [577  similar products]
3Books > Subjects > Nonfiction > Social Sciences > Sociology > General   [30158  similar products]
4Books > Subjects > Nonfiction > Social Sciences > Sociology > Marriage & Family   [2316  similar products]
5Books > Subjects > Nonfiction > Social Sciences > Sociology > Urban   [1227  similar products]
6Books > Subjects > Nonfiction > Social Sciences > Special Groups > African-American Studies   [2765  similar products]

Similar Products
Boss:  Richard J. Daley of Chicago
Boss: Richard J. Daley of Chicago
Item: 4281103

Reviews - What do our customers think?
There are No Children Here: The Story of Two Boys Growing Up in the Other America  May 2, 2008
I found this book both rewarding and disturbing at the same time but appreciated that it took me out of my middle class comfort zone and reminded me that there are social and cultural inequities that continue to cry out urgently for solutions.
Mr Kotlowitz has the ability to describe the lives of two young gentle souls who are raised as best their mother can against a system that tolerates, shamefully, physical surrounds and economic deprivations that most of us can only guess at.
The author narrates his observations as he follows the children around and describes how they deal with the life they are dealt and the heroics involved in order to do so over a two year period.
I think that the way we are shown how their loving mother has to go about her daily life should awaken in all of us a desire to help in any way we can, to find ways to ease the life of those who live in sub standard housing and the lack of more assistance to live a more comfortable and nurturing life.
Without tackling such issues, we continue to condemn our youngsters to a way of life that inhibits their potential and ingrains the social ills that contribute significantly to their development.
Mr Kotlowitz,in deciding to help those youngster personally, to give them the opportunity to study at a private school, whether they did or did not ultimately benefit from his generosity, is an example most of us can only dream about.
I highly recommend this book to all who may wish to gain insight into a class in our society that cries out for understanding and assistance.
Incredible book to read depicting subsidized housing in Chgo  Apr 23, 2008
Incredible book and this is a strong and valid depiction of life in the Chgo Housing Projects as seen through the eyes of 2 young boys and their family members. The uphill battles and huge struggles are incomprehensible. You don't have to be from Chgo to appreciate this.
Riveting look at poverty  Jan 10, 2008
Kotlowitz has given us a striking example of the power of journalism.

This book is able to show the reader the plight of the urban poor without overly moralizing. Kotlowitz gives a straight ahead account of the lives of Lafeyette and Pharoah, the two brothers this book centers. Their struggles to retain their innocence while living in an environment that strips it away is mesmerizing.

I could not help but empathize with the families in this book. A lot of pundits will say that poor people are lazy, but this book brings a lot of their challenges to light. When survival is a day to day struggle, how can people be expected to get ahead? Kotlowitz details the struggles the boys and their families have in trying to improve their situation.

This book is a modern classic about poverty and its effects, in the vein of 'Down and Out in Paris and London' by George Orwell. Anyone wanting to understand 'welfare moms' and why they don't improve their situations should read this.
The other America indeed  Sep 25, 2007
Nice mix of anecdote and historical background on life in inner city America. Excellent insight into the everyday difficulties faced by families and some of the root causes. This book, though almost 20 years old, still has a message that needs to be heard.
a sobering account of the horrendous state of America's impoverished  Jul 18, 2007
You don't need to look to Africa or the Middle East to find crime and poverty. Millions live in gang-riddled public housing projects, where violence is a fact of life. If these thoughts don't stir your heart, this book will.

Write your own review about There Are No Children Here: The Story of Two Boys Growing Up in The Other America

Customer Support: 1-888-395-0572
Welcome to Christian Bookstore .Net

Our team at Christian Bookstore .Net would like to welcome you to our site. Our Christian book store features over 150,000 Christian products including Bibles, Christian music, Christian books, jewelry, church supplies, Christian gifts, Sunday school curriculum, purity rings, homeschool curriculum and many other items to encourage you in your walk with God. Our mission is to provide you with quality Christian resources that you can benefit from and share with others. The best part is that our complete selection of Christian books and supplies is offered at up to 20% off of retail price! Please call us if you have any questions or need assistance in ordering at 1-888-395-0572. Have a blessed day.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Customer Support