Christian Books, Bibles, Music & More - 1.888.395.0572
Call our Toll Free Number:
1-877-205-6402
Find us on:
Follow Us On 

Twitter!   Join Us On Facebook!

Christian Bookstore .Net is a leading online Christian book store.

Shop Christian Books, Bibles, Jewelry, Church Supplies, Homeschool Curriculum & More!

The Seeker's Way: Cultivating the Longings of a Spiritual Life [Hardcover]

By Dave Fleming (Author)
Our Price $ 16.96  
Retail Value $ 19.95  
You Save $ 2.99  (15%)  
Item Number 147595  
Buy New $16.96
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock

Item Specifications...

Pages   176
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.48" Width: 5.82" Height: 0.77"
Weight:   0.64 lbs.
Binding  Hardcover
Release Date   Feb 1, 2005
Publisher   Jossey-Bass
ISBN  0787970999  
EAN  9780787970994  


Availability  0 units.


Item Description...
Overview
The Seeker's Way brings hope to all who are longing for deeper considerations of what it means to connect with the divine. It serves as a guide to those who want to open themselves more fully to meaning, authenticity, and wholeness. In this book, author, leadership coach, and spiritual seeker Dave Fleming explores six central longings: From reliance on answers to the opening of experience; From activity to meaning; From control to compost; From Shadwo and Illusion to substance and reality; From performance to expression and freedom; From segregation to community The Seeker's Way explains the practices that will help satisfy each of these very human longings and explores what it means to take a spiritual journey. Using the individual stories of prominent contemporary figures the book provides models of the seeker's way. Their life stories and ideas about the spiritual journey illuminate the many ways that these central longings can be addressed.

Publishers Description
"The" "Seeker's Way" brings hope to all who are longing for deeper considerations of what it means to connect with the divine. It serves as a guide to those who want to open themselves more fully to meaning, authenticity, and wholeness. In this book, author, leadership coach, and spiritual seeker Dave Fleming explores six central longings: From reliance on answers to the opening of experience; From activity to meaning; From control to compost; From Shadwo and Illusion to substance and reality; From performance to expression and freedom; From segregation to community

"The Seeker's Way" explains the practices that will help satisfy each of these very human longings and explores what it means to take a spiritual journey. Using the individual stories of prominent contemporary figures the book provides models of the seeker's way. Their life stories and ideas about the spiritual journey illuminate the many ways that these central longings can be addressed.



Buy The Seeker's Way: Cultivating the Longings of a Spiritual Life by Dave Fleming from our Christian Books store - isbn: 9780787970994 & 0787970999

The team at Christian Bookstore .Net welcome you to our Christian Book store! We offer the best selections of Christian Books, Bibles, Christian Music, Inspirational Jewelry and Clothing, Homeschool curriculum, and Church Supplies. We encourage you to purchase your copy of The Seeker's Way: Cultivating the Longings of a Spiritual Life by Dave Fleming today - and if you are for any reason not happy, you have 30 days to return it. Please contact us at 1-877-205-6402 if you have any questions.

More About Dave Fleming

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Dave Fleming is a spiritual mentor and leadership coach, with a doctor of management in organizational leadership from the University of Phoenix. After twenty years in pastoral ministry, Dave now helps organizations maximize their potential in order to better serve the world around them. A contributor to and columnist for Leonard Sweet's website, preachingplus.com, Dave is author of Leadership Wisdom from Unlikely Voices: People of Yesterday Speak to Leaders of Today and has written for leading magazines and journals, including REV and Strategy and Leadership.

Dave Fleming was born in 1964.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.



Product Categories
1Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Christian Living > General   [31520  similar products]
2Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Christian Living   [6082  similar products]
4Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Spirituality > General   [11744  similar products]
5Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Spirituality   [1945  similar products]



Similar Products


Reviews - What do our customers think?
Life changing  Jun 19, 2006
Having heard Mr Fleming speak in a church I was eager to read more. I was pleased to see that there is someone who seems ready to lead the church into a time when we realize that all religions come from the same great mysterious place. It is liberating to see that there is a christian thinker in the tradition of Teasdale or Borg (both used in this book) who would even take the first steps into leading the church to a place where they can be as influenced by the teachings of the Buddha, and Bhagavad Gita, Dalai Lhama and other great spiritual leaders as well as they can learn from jesus. Hopefully, as people use this text to help them on their seeker's way, they will discover that "salvation" is not exclusive to those who look to jesus as their spiritual leader. Well done, can't wait to see what is next.
 
Good, but caution...  Apr 29, 2006
This book could have been titled something like "Zen Christianity," as it is essentially an eastern mystic approach to spirituality. While I think Christians do need to be more aware of God's presence all around us, and to humbly realize that learning of God is a continuous growth in His wonder, awe, and mystery, this is not what truth is all about.

God gave us his revelation, which is the Bible, so that we can know certain things certainly. One of these certain things is as Jesus Christ said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me." Only through Jesus Christ do we really come to know God. Jesus Christ is himself God, the Son.

Our faith must be rooted first in God's Word, and from there develop spiritual disciplines and practices. I get the impression that Dave Fleming may not agree with this, especially since he refers to spiritual mentors in his book that do not. I gave 3 stars because it is well written, and I appreciate his contribution. But I do humbly offer my warning as stated above.
 
a pomo must read  Jul 25, 2005
Dave Flemming's The Seeker's Way is a postmodern book about the faith journey. Not catering only to the Christian faith tradition, although he embraces it, Flemming's words are for seekers of all faith traditions.
Former Pastor, Now Spiritual Advisor and Leadership Coach, Dave Flemming holds an earned doctorate in organizational leadership from the University of Phoenix. Flemming encourages readers to embrace uncertainty, chaos, and questions. His words are inspiring to those who find themselves on the path of a learner.
Drawing allusions and references from Buddist monks, Hindus, and Muslims, as well as Christian luminaries such as Brother Lawrence and St. Augustine, Flemming encourages believers to get into relationship with others from different faith traditions. Establishing a seeker's group is one way, and to that end, Flemming includes an epilogue on starting a seeker's group.
Those who embrace emergent voices and are not afraid of other faith traditions will find this book salve to the soul. Jesus in the lotus position will not encourage staunch traditionalists. It will, however, reveal much to those who can endure the discomfort of facing other faith traditions. I highly recommend this book for seekers of all faiths and those longing to embrace the emergent voice. It is an excellent read, one I can't wait to read again.
Written for [...] by Suzanne Rae Deshchidn
 
Be challenged by The Seeker's Way  Apr 23, 2005
The Seeker's Way is a must read for anyone who wants to take the next step forward in their spiritual journey. The book is intellectually stimulating, humerous, thought provoking and challenging. It is a refreshing and honest accounting of Dave Fleming's own journey and his interviews with spiritual authors who have influenced him in his quest. This book has certainly caused me to reflect on my own journey and has challenged me to move towards unexpected paths where one embraces the differences of others and celebrates our own uniqueness. I highly recommend it to everyone.
 
The Seeker's Way is really helping me on my own path.  Mar 30, 2005
This book is honestly one of the most important that I have read. In my own life spirituality has become a journey of confusion, hope, doubt, and faith. I have read many books about spiritual life in order to find meaning and make my journey real and personal. Most books speak of spirituality and seeking in terms that are cold and impersonally religious. The Seeker's Way is a beautiful story that gives me permission to have courage and even pride in my journey. I feel encouraged to embrace these longings, not through systematic formulas, but through a lifestyle that brings hope to my own seeker's way. I would strongly recommend this book to everyone, those whom are currently spiritually seeking and those who don't know they are yet. Peace, jared
 

Write your own review about The Seeker's Way: Cultivating the Longings of a Spiritual Life





Customer Support: 1-888-395-0572
Welcome to Christian Bookstore .Net

Our team at Christian Bookstore .Net would like to welcome you to our site. Our Christian book store features over 150,000 Christian products including Bibles, Christian music, Christian books, jewelry, church supplies, Christian gifts, Sunday school curriculum, purity rings, homeschool curriculum and many other items to encourage you in your walk with God. Our mission is to provide you with quality Christian resources that you can benefit from and share with others. The best part is that our complete selection of Christian books and supplies is offered at up to 20% off of retail price! Please call us if you have any questions or need assistance in ordering at 1-888-395-0572. Have a blessed day.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Customer Support