Christian Books, Bibles, Music & More - 1.888.395.0572
Call our Toll Free Number:
Find us on:
Follow Us On 

Twitter!   Join Us On Facebook!

Christian Bookstore .Net is a leading online Christian book store.

Shop Christian Books, Bibles, Jewelry, Church Supplies, Homeschool Curriculum & More!

The Secret (Seasons of Grace, Book 1) [Hardcover]

By Beverly Lewis (Author)
Our Price $ 16.99  
Retail Value $ 19.99  
You Save $ 3.00  (15%)  
Item Number 345809  
Buy New $16.99
Out Of Stock!
Discontinued - Out Of Print
The manufacturer has discontinued this product and no longer offers it for sale. We are unable to obtain more stock.

Item Specifications...

Pages   368
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.68" Width: 5.72" Height: 1.23"
Weight:   1.15 lbs.
Binding  Hardcover
Release Date   May 1, 2009
Publisher   Bethany House
ISBN  076420680X  
EAN  9780764206801  

Availability  0 units.

Item Description...
In the seemingly ordinary Amish home of Grace Byler, secrets abound. Why does her mother weep and wander deep in the night? And why does her father refuse to admit something is dreadfully wrong? Then, in one startling moment, the quiet life Grace has known is irrevocably altered, leaving her to question all she has been taught about love, family, and commitment. - Back cover.

Publishers Description
In the seemingly ordinary Amish home of Grace Byler, secrets abound. Why does her mother weep in the night? Why does her father refuse to admit something is dreadfully wrong? Then, in one startling moment, everything Grace assumed she knew is shattered. Her mother's disappearance leaves Grace reeling and unable to keep her betrothal promise to her long-time beau. Left to pick up the pieces of her life, Grace questions all she has been taught about love, family, and commitment. Heather Nelson is an English grad student, stunned by a doctor's diagnosis. Surely fate would not allow her father to lose his only daughter after the death of his wife a few years before. In denial and telling no one she is terminally ill, Heather travels to Lancaster County--the last place she and her mother had visited together. Will Heather find healing for body and spirit? As the lives of four wounded souls begin to weave together like an Amish patchwork quilt, they each discover missing pieces of their life puzzles--and glimpse the merciful and loving hand of God.

Buy The Secret (Seasons of Grace, Book 1) by Beverly Lewis from our Christian Books store - isbn: 9780764206801 & 076420680X

The team at Christian Bookstore .Net welcome you to our Christian Book store! We offer the best selections of Christian Books, Bibles, Christian Music, Inspirational Jewelry and Clothing, Homeschool curriculum, and Church Supplies. We encourage you to purchase your copy of The Secret (Seasons of Grace, Book 1) by Beverly Lewis today - and if you are for any reason not happy, you have 30 days to return it. Please contact us at 1-877-205-6402 if you have any questions.

More About Beverly Lewis

Beverly Lewis Beverly Lewis was born in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country. She fondly recalls her growing-up years, and due to a keen interest in her mother's Plain family heritage, many of Beverly's books are set in Lancaster County.

A former schoolteacher, Bev is a member of The National League of American Pen Women—the Pikes Peak Branch—and the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators. Her bestselling books are among the C.S. Lewis Noteworthy List Books, and both The Postcard and Annika's Secret Wish have received Silver Angel Awards. Bev and her husband have three children and make their home in Colorado.

Beverly Lewis currently resides in the state of Colorado. Beverly Lewis was born in 1949.

Beverly Lewis has published or released items in the following series...

  1. Home to Hickory Hollow
  2. Home to Hickory Hollow (Unnumbered)

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories
1Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Authors, A-Z > ( L ) > Lewis, Beverly   [53  similar products]
2Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Fiction & Poetry > Fiction   [6815  similar products]

Similar Products

Reviews - What do our customers think?
Great Series, My Favorite Beverly Lewis Series  Jun 1, 2010
This is a great series, that kept me guessing. I always enjoy Beverly Lewis' books, but these 3 books are by far my favorite.
Seasons of Grace series  May 11, 2010
I have yet to read a Beverly Lewis book I have not thoroughly enjoyed. Highly recommended.
The Secret  Apr 21, 2010
I have always enjoyed Beverly Lewis and this series was no exception. I just completed the entire series and look forward to her next book on the Amish. I will continue to read this authors books as they come out.

ZZZZZzzzzzzz......  Apr 15, 2010
I got about halfway through Beverly Lewis' the Secret when I realized that it's lack of plot was raising my blood pressure from frustration. It is SO BAD that I went on line to try to find the plot, only to find that only one plot detail will be revealed in this book...the rest I'd have to wait for the series. Um. No. I don't need ten minute descriptions of sticky buns. This book can put you to sleep AND make you fat.
To Predictable  Mar 27, 2010
This book would never stand alone: however, the story is so predictable that I am wondering if I indeed want to read the last 2.

In order to allow the reader to feel the emotions that are swirling around in this family, she writes in a rather depressing manner. This Amish family is not the typical "everything is peaches and cream" family that is normally portrayed. The mother is extremely depressed, living with an uncaring husband.
The plot of the story is unique: however, there are so many hints that I figured out what the secret was early on in the book. This book is "darker" than her normal Amish stories; however, it does take the reader into a family where the mother suffers from severe depression. The way the family and community handles this is probably close to reality.

I like reading a story that is not all "peaches and cream" within an Amish family. Many subjects are covered, including how the way a Bishop interupts their "ordung" determines how the community lives. Beverly also touches on the pain of families having to move away in order to find farmland as farms are being divided amoung children at such a fast rate that many Amish are unable to even obtain farmland.

There are definately interesting facts and twists from her other books, but worth reading.


Write your own review about The Secret (Seasons of Grace, Book 1)

Customer Support: 1-888-395-0572
Welcome to Christian Bookstore .Net

Our team at Christian Bookstore .Net would like to welcome you to our site. Our Christian book store features over 150,000 Christian products including Bibles, Christian music, Christian books, jewelry, church supplies, Christian gifts, Sunday school curriculum, purity rings, homeschool curriculum and many other items to encourage you in your walk with God. Our mission is to provide you with quality Christian resources that you can benefit from and share with others. The best part is that our complete selection of Christian books and supplies is offered at up to 20% off of retail price! Please call us if you have any questions or need assistance in ordering at 1-888-395-0572. Have a blessed day.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Customer Support