Christian Books, Bibles, Music & More - 1.888.395.0572
Call our Toll Free Number:
1-877-205-6402
Find us on:
Follow Us On 

Twitter!   Join Us On Facebook!

Christian Bookstore .Net is a leading online Christian book store.

Shop Christian Books, Bibles, Jewelry, Church Supplies, Homeschool Curriculum & More!

The Complete Idiot's Guide to Classical Mythology, 2nd Edition (The Complete Idiot's Guide) [Paperback]

Our Price $ 16.96  
Retail Value $ 19.95  
You Save $ 2.99  (15%)  
Item Number 403886  
Buy New $16.96
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock

Item Specifications...

Pages   387
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 9.2" Width: 7.38" Height: 0.88"
Weight:   1.35 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Nov 2, 2004
Publisher   Alpha
ISBN  1592572898  
EAN  9781592572892  


Availability  0 units.


Item Description...
Overview
An incisive introduction to Greek and Roman mythology provides explanations of all the gods and their roles, a discussion on the origins of the myths and theories about who wrote them, and an analysis of the function of myths in society, in a guide that features a who's who glossary of classical mythological characters and a look at recent film and TV versions of classical myths. Original.

Publishers Description
An exploration of timeless legends.

First told centuries ago, the ancient myths of the Greeks and Romans continue to fascinate and influence the world today. The expanded edition of this popular guide examines why these legends remain an integral part of human history, citing their literary value, and their presence throughout popular culture in such works as J.K. RowlingA's Harry Potter novels, and the Coen brothersA' film O Brother, Where Art Thou?.

A Features a 50-page A"whoA's whoA" glossary of classical mythological charactersA- from both the Greek and Roman versions
A An updated look at recent movies and television seriesA' based on mythology, including Helen of Troy, HBOA's animated Odyssey, and the Disney ChannelA's Hercules


Buy The Complete Idiot's Guide to Classical Mythology, 2nd Edition (The Complete Idiot's Guide) by Kevin Osborn & Dana Burgess from our Christian Books store - isbn: 9781592572892 & 1592572898

The team at Christian Bookstore .Net welcome you to our Christian Book store! We offer the best selections of Christian Books, Bibles, Christian Music, Inspirational Jewelry and Clothing, Homeschool curriculum, and Church Supplies. We encourage you to purchase your copy of The Complete Idiot's Guide to Classical Mythology, 2nd Edition (The Complete Idiot's Guide) by Kevin Osborn & Dana Burgess today - and if you are for any reason not happy, you have 30 days to return it. Please contact us at 1-877-205-6402 if you have any questions.

More About Kevin Osborn & Dana Burgess

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! KEVIN OSBORN is author of over three dozen books, including The Complete Idiot s Guide(r) to Bringing Up Baby and The Complete Idiot s Guide(r) to Parenting a Preschooler and Toddler, Too. He lives in Park Ridge, New Jersey."

Kevin Osborn currently resides in the state of New Jersey.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.



Product Categories
1Books > Subjects > Nonfiction > Social Sciences > Folklore & Mythology   [1967  similar products]
2Books > Subjects > Nonfiction > Social Sciences > Sociology > General   [17199  similar products]
3Books > Subjects > Reference > Encyclopedias > Mythology & Folklore   [164  similar products]



Similar Products


Reviews - What do our customers think?
very nice  Sep 8, 2008
Very nice and useful refrances. I do wish there were more pictures and varieations of the myths. But it dose have everything you want to know about Myhtology.
 
No pictures?!  Aug 22, 2008
Maybe I'm just a dummy for saying this but I would have enjoyed some images. This book is all text and though it can be quirky in its delivery, I would have liked some visual references to go along with the sorted tales.
 
Fantastic guide for those new to myths, or wanting an easy fun version of events  Jun 2, 2006
When I bought this book I had no idea what classical mythology was. I was writing a novel about Hercules though, and needed some mythological help, so I bought the book. Luckily for me, Classical mythology is the myths of ancient Greece and Rome.

This book has perfect, easy to read break-downs of even the most complicated myths. Often funny and always a pleasure to study, I found myself reading this at bedtime instead of a novel. It's almost a perfect work on the Greek Myths.

I had two problems with this book. One, I had no idea of the time line of the myths. Like, Hercules married Creon's daughter, but Creon's sister was married to Oedipus-so did Hercules grow up in a Thebes ruled by Oedipus or was that later on? I had no idea at all. Also a more complete family tree for the gods, sprites, titans and nymphs would have been good, but probably would have had to come in a form like a fold out map.

In short, fabulous book to get started on Greek and Roman myths, though more detailed study may be needed later on for clarification.
 
Excellent resource for classical mythology fans.  May 24, 2004
Like most books in the "Idiot's Guide" series, this guide to classical mythology is an excellent and comprehensive resource book for fans of Greek and Roman mythology.

There are several mythology reference books available in the market today but more serious and 'seasoned' fans and scholars will likely prefer THE COMPLETE IDIOT'S GUIDE TO CLASSICAL MYTHOLOGY by Kevin Osborn. We're not idiots, of course, but this book is meaty, entertaining and has more background information on the various gods/goddesses, heroes and stories. At over 350 pages, it has loads of information on various topics and stories in mythology. For instance, an entire chapter is dedicated to the Trojan War and Achilles and Odysseus also have their own chapters. With other mythology books, you would be lucky to have a few pages dedicated to Achilles alone.

Fans who want more than classical mythology will want to explore MYTHOLOGY FOR DUMMIES by Christopher Blackwell. This book also delves into the Arthurian legend, Norse myths, Beowulf, as well as world mythology in general (Chinese, Jewish, Hindu, etc).

These 2 books are all excellent. The choice lies on the readers' level of interests. I would recommend the "Complete Idiot's Guide" to those who enjoy Roman and Greek mythology or those who want to learn more about the Trojan War, Perseus, Jason and the Argonauts, Zeus, Hercules and the many other fascinating gods/goddesses and heroes of classical mythology.

 
A Skeptic No More  Jun 19, 2000
I was a bit skeptical about purchasing my first "Complete Idiot's Guide," but this work won me over completely. It covers all the major aspects of Greek myth in a well-organized, easily understandable fashion. Authors Osborn and Burgess were not content with merely giving the "greatest hits" of myth, they include a wealth of detail and helpful historical/cultural notes. The "Least You Need to Know" sections at the end of each chapter are particularly nice. As a teacher of Classics I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who need an intro to Greek myth or anyone (like myself) who needs a handy reference.
 

Write your own review about The Complete Idiot's Guide to Classical Mythology, 2nd Edition (The Complete Idiot's Guide)





Customer Support: 1-888-395-0572
Welcome to Christian Bookstore .Net

Our team at Christian Bookstore .Net would like to welcome you to our site. Our Christian book store features over 150,000 Christian products including Bibles, Christian music, Christian books, jewelry, church supplies, Christian gifts, Sunday school curriculum, purity rings, homeschool curriculum and many other items to encourage you in your walk with God. Our mission is to provide you with quality Christian resources that you can benefit from and share with others. The best part is that our complete selection of Christian books and supplies is offered at up to 20% off of retail price! Please call us if you have any questions or need assistance in ordering at 1-888-395-0572. Have a blessed day.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Customer Support