Christian Books, Bibles, Music & More - 1.888.395.0572
Call our Toll Free Number:
Find us on:
Follow Us On 

Twitter!   Join Us On Facebook!

Christian Bookstore .Net is a leading online Christian book store.

Shop Christian Books, Bibles, Jewelry, Church Supplies, Homeschool Curriculum & More!

The Acme Novelty Datebook [Hardcover]

Our Price $ 38.21  
Retail Value $ 44.95  
You Save $ 6.74  (15%)  
Item Number 279288  
Buy New $38.21
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock

Item Specifications...

Pages   208
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 1" Width: 7" Height: 9.75"
Weight:   1.85 lbs.
Binding  Hardcover
Publisher   Drawn and Quarterly
ISBN  1896597661  
EAN  9781896597669  

Availability  0 units.

Item Description...
Acclaimed cartoonist Chris Ware reveals the outtakes of his genius in these intimate, imaginative, and whimsical sketches collected from the years during which he completed his award-winning graphic novel Jimmy Corrigan: The Smartest Kid on Earth (Pantheon). His novel not only won the Manchester Guardian First Novel prize in 2001 but it has sold over 100,000 copies. This book is as much a companion volume to Jimmy Corrigan --one of the great crossover success stories-- as a tremendous art collection from of one of America's most interesting and popular graphic artist.

Chris Ware has a passion for drawing that is surprisingly wide-ranging in style and subject. This book surprises the reader on every page with its sense of spontaneous vision. Architectural drawings from Chicago and interplanetary robot comics collide with cruelly doodled human figures and quietly troubling studies of the still life. A must for people with a passion for modern design and old-fashioned style.

Buy The Acme Novelty Datebook by Chris Ware from our Christian Books store - isbn: 9781896597669 & 1896597661

The team at Christian Bookstore .Net welcome you to our Christian Book store! We offer the best selections of Christian Books, Bibles, Christian Music, Inspirational Jewelry and Clothing, Homeschool curriculum, and Church Supplies. We encourage you to purchase your copy of The Acme Novelty Datebook by Chris Ware today - and if you are for any reason not happy, you have 30 days to return it. Please contact us at 1-877-205-6402 if you have any questions.

More About Chris Ware

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! CHRIS WARE is widely acknowledged as the most gifted and beloved cartoonist of his generation by both his mother and seven-year-old daughter. "Building Stories," released in 2012, received 4 Eisner Awards, including Best Graphic Album, in 2013. His "Jimmy Corrigan: The Smartest Kid on Earth" won the Guardian First Book Award and was listed as one of the "100 Best Books of the Decade" by"The Times" (London)in 2009. An irregular contributor to "This American Life" and "The New Yorker ("where some of the pages of this book first appeared) his original drawings have been exhibited in the Whitney Biennial, the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago and in piles behind his work table in Oak Park, Illinois."

Chris Ware was born in 1967 and has an academic affiliation as follows - San Francisco Cartoon Art Museum.

Chris Ware has published or released items in the following series...
  1. Pantheon Graphic Novels

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories
1Books > Subjects > Arts & Photography > Art > Art History   [529  similar products]
2Books > Subjects > Arts & Photography > Art > General   [10388  similar products]
3Books > Subjects > Arts & Photography > Art > Instruction & Reference > General   [1185  similar products]
4Books > Subjects > Arts & Photography > Art > Museums & Collections > General   [453  similar products]
5Books > Subjects > Arts & Photography > Artists, A-Z > General   [1199  similar products]
6Books > Subjects > Arts & Photography > Graphic Design > Cartooning   [335  similar products]
7Books > Subjects > Arts & Photography > Graphic Design > Graphic Arts > General   [332  similar products]
8Books > Subjects > Comics & Graphic Novels > General   [6129  similar products]
9Books > Subjects > Comics & Graphic Novels > Graphic Novels > General   [6610  similar products]
10Books > Subjects > Comics & Graphic Novels > Publishers > Drawn and Quarterly   [79  similar products]

Similar Products

Reviews - What do our customers think?
great stuff  Feb 20, 2007
beautiful matter how self critical mr. ware was back in the day. the book really allows the reader into the head of a master illustrator. if you're looking more for a graphic novel, don't start with this one (try his first real freshman work jimmy c, or his ACME novelty library, probably my favorite - you get a real sense of what ware is all about - clean lines, insane, or better put, anal details). anyway, back to this one...great book, if you're a fan of ware, there's no reason not to get this one, and if you're not yet convinced, this is a nice piece just to have - these same drawings and doodles that once inspired ware himself, now get me thinking. love it.
Shows Chris as the true artist that he is  Jan 13, 2007
I didn't think I would like this one. But after owning everything else the man ever made, I asked for this one for x-mas. Wow! I love it! There are spontaneous portraits of people on the bus, views from friend's rooftops, the rudiments of strips like: God, Jimmy the robot etc...
If you are a Chris Ware fan YOU WILL LOVE THIS BOOK! If you are not familiar with Chris, best to start somewhere else.
Monster talent!  Oct 23, 2005
The book is a record of an absolute monster drawing talent!
It collects tentative investigations, as a scrapbook of ideas and odds and ends. The amazing thing about it is its vitality.
Anything and everything becomes a source of inspiration and investigation into the nature of drawing. A coffee cup, a telephone in a waiting room, a washing machine, such mundane things seem to begin as notations but are transformed by Ware's observation of line and tone into their inner vitality - much like Van Gogh's peasant shoes. There are beautiful portraits. And beyond the observed notes, the book is positively brimming with characters, mutations, and cartoons from his eccentric imagination. The fantastical musings and the observed notations blend, merge together, separate like DNA strands through the book, adding up to a rich record of creativity
Acme Novelty Datebook  Jun 18, 2004
I just finished reading this, and it's a real treat. Fans of Jimmy Corrigan or Acme Novelty Library will enjoy drafts of these but expect differences in style. This gives a better look at Chris Ware than his other publications that I've read. You can really feel his frustrations in this work. I reccommend this to both fans and non-fans.
Insight into Genius  Sep 28, 2003
If you want to see inside Chris Ware's head, this is the book. There's next to no Jimmy Corrigan or Acme Novelty, just raw sketches of inspiration and internal struggle spanning 9 years of Ware's life (1986-1995). As an illustrator/designer, I found this book to be the most inspirational book I own, and I own many inspirational books. I definately recommend it.

Write your own review about The Acme Novelty Datebook

Customer Support: 1-888-395-0572
Welcome to Christian Bookstore .Net

Our team at Christian Bookstore .Net would like to welcome you to our site. Our Christian book store features over 150,000 Christian products including Bibles, Christian music, Christian books, jewelry, church supplies, Christian gifts, Sunday school curriculum, purity rings, homeschool curriculum and many other items to encourage you in your walk with God. Our mission is to provide you with quality Christian resources that you can benefit from and share with others. The best part is that our complete selection of Christian books and supplies is offered at up to 20% off of retail price! Please call us if you have any questions or need assistance in ordering at 1-888-395-0572. Have a blessed day.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Customer Support