Christian Books, Bibles, Music & More - 1.888.395.0572
Call our Toll Free Number:
Find us on:
Follow Us On 

Twitter!   Join Us On Facebook!

Christian Bookstore .Net is a leading online Christian book store.

Shop Christian Books, Bibles, Jewelry, Church Supplies, Homeschool Curriculum & More!

Teaching Your Children Healthy Sexuality Parent/Child Combo Pack: A Winning Approach to Preparing Them for Life (Pure Foundations) [Paperback]

By Jim Burns (Author)
Our Price $ 25.49  
Retail Value $ 29.99  
You Save $ 4.50  (15%)  
Item Number 100352  
Buy New $25.49
Out Of Stock!
Discontinued - Out Of Print
The manufacturer has discontinued this product and no longer offers it for sale. We are unable to obtain more stock.

Item Specifications...

Pages   208
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.26" Width: 5.57" Height: 1.55"
Weight:   1.17 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Aug 1, 2008
Publisher   Bethany House
ISBN  076420548X  
EAN  9780764205484  

Availability  0 units.

Pure Foundations - Full Series Preview
Image Title Price Stock Qty Add To Cart
  Purity Code   $ 11.04   In Stock  
  Teaching Your Children Healthy Sexuality   $ 12.74   In Stock  
  How God Makes Babies   $ 12.74   In Stock  

Item Description...
Move beyond "the talk" and instill a healthy understanding of sexuality in your kids! Jim Burns's conversational tone eliminates any awkwardness as you and your tweens join in fun, informative, and age-appropriate discussions about puberty, sex, and relationships. Includes a parents' manual, The Purity Code guide for preteens, and an audio CD.

Buy Teaching Your Children Healthy Sexuality Parent/Child Combo Pack: A Winning Approach to Preparing Them for Life (Pure Foundations) by Jim Burns from our Christian Books store - isbn: 9780764205484 & 076420548X

The team at Christian Bookstore .Net welcome you to our Christian Book store! We offer the best selections of Christian Books, Bibles, Christian Music, Inspirational Jewelry and Clothing, Homeschool curriculum, and Church Supplies. We encourage you to purchase your copy of Teaching Your Children Healthy Sexuality Parent/Child Combo Pack: A Winning Approach to Preparing Them for Life (Pure Foundations) by Jim Burns today - and if you are for any reason not happy, you have 30 days to return it. Please contact us at 1-877-205-6402 if you have any questions.

More About Jim Burns

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Jim Burns is president of HomeWord and executive director of the HomeWord Center for Youth and Family at Azusa Pacific University. He has more than 1.5 million resources in print and a radio broadcast heard on 800 stations a day. Jim resides in Southern California with his wife Cathy and their three daughters.

Jim Burns currently resides in the state of California. Jim Burns was born in 1953.

Jim Burns has published or released items in the following series...
  1. Pure Foundations
  2. Uncommon
  3. Uncommon High School Bible Study
  4. Uncommon High School Group Study

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories
1Books > Sheet Music & Scores > Composers > Vaughan-williams   [500  similar products]
2Books > Subjects > Health, Mind & Body > General   [18241  similar products]
3Books > Subjects > Health, Mind & Body > Sex > Sex Instruction > General   [873  similar products]
4Books > Subjects > Health, Mind & Body > Sex > Sex Instruction   [35  similar products]
5Books > Subjects > Parenting & Families > General   [10049  similar products]
6Books > Subjects > Parenting & Families > Parenting > General   [3924  similar products]
7Books > Subjects > Parenting & Families > Parenting   [467  similar products]
8Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Christian Living > General   [31520  similar products]
9Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Christian Living   [6082  similar products]

Similar Products
Shepherding A Childs Heart
Shepherding A Childs Heart
Item: 13854

Do Hard Things
Do Hard Things
Item: 67180

Reviews - What do our customers think?
--  Apr 20, 2009
For most parents, the idea of having to talk to their children about sex and sexuality leaves them with sweaty palms and dry mouths. It's not that parents don't see the importance, they just aren't sure what to say...or how...or even when, for that matter! Add to that the fact that very few parents today had conversations about sexuality with their parents and so there is no model, good or bad, from which to work. This leaves most parents feeling very awkward in unfamiliar territory. But in a sex-saturated society like ours, the consequences of saying nothing are steep and our children will be the ones to suffer.

Jim Burns has been ministering to youth and families for the better part of 30 years and this latest book is part of a larger curriculum called Pure Foundations which urges parents to teach their children to see their sexuality, not just as a physical act, but rather as a weaving together of our spiritual, physical, emotional, and charactorial complexities. Burns begins with Scripture to build a value-centered, Biblical theology of sexuality. He urges parents to study the culture and use it to raise discussions of sexuality with their children. And he urges parents to model healthy sexual behavior and values, to be honest (and age-appropriate) about their own past, and to unapologetically set limits to protect their children.

The strength of the book is two-fold. First, the repeated encouragements to start the discussions. Some will go well, others won't. One presentation, even perfectly delivered, is woefully insufficient. The goal is not to dump information, it is to create a way of thinking about sexuality. Second, he identifies a variety of topics to cover in numerous on-going conversations (discussions, not lectures), over several years, always age-appropriate.

The weakness of the book is its lack of specifics in two areas: resources and examples. Burns often refers to excellent resources that are available but doesn't identify what they are or where to find them. And second, there are almost no examples of "sample" conversations in the book. Maybe they appear elsewhere in the curriculum, but they would be helpful to have in the book; giving first-time parents a general sense of how to enter into these conversations, or giving some examples of age-appropriateness.

Overall, this book, and its accompanying curriculum, will be a blessing to parents who want to raise their children with a healthy, biblical understanding of their sexuality. Readers who enjoyed Burns' Confident Parenting and Hayley DiMarco's Sexy Girls will want to read this. Parents, youth pastors, and parachurch ministry directors would be wise to get this material and use it.


Write your own review about Teaching Your Children Healthy Sexuality Parent/Child Combo Pack: A Winning Approach to Preparing Them for Life (Pure Foundations)

Customer Support: 1-888-395-0572
Welcome to Christian Bookstore .Net

Our team at Christian Bookstore .Net would like to welcome you to our site. Our Christian book store features over 150,000 Christian products including Bibles, Christian music, Christian books, jewelry, church supplies, Christian gifts, Sunday school curriculum, purity rings, homeschool curriculum and many other items to encourage you in your walk with God. Our mission is to provide you with quality Christian resources that you can benefit from and share with others. The best part is that our complete selection of Christian books and supplies is offered at up to 20% off of retail price! Please call us if you have any questions or need assistance in ordering at 1-888-395-0572. Have a blessed day.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Customer Support