Christian Books, Bibles, Music & More - 1.888.395.0572
Call our Toll Free Number:
Find us on:
Follow Us On 

Twitter!   Join Us On Facebook!

Christian Bookstore .Net is a leading online Christian book store.

Shop Christian Books, Bibles, Jewelry, Church Supplies, Homeschool Curriculum & More!

Secrets on the Wind: Secrets on the Wind/Watchers on the Hill/Footprints on the Horizon (Pine Ridge Portraits Series 1-3) [Hardcover]

By Stephanie Whitson (Author)
Our Price $ 16.99  
Retail Value $ 19.99  
You Save $ 3.00  (15%)  
Item Number 172529  
Buy New $16.99
Out Of Stock!
Discontinued - Out Of Print
The manufacturer has discontinued this product and no longer offers it for sale. We are unable to obtain more stock.

Item Specifications...

Pages   704
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 9" Width: 6" Height: 2.4"
Weight:   2.15 lbs.
Binding  Hardcover
Release Date   Oct 31, 2008
Publisher   Bethany House
ISBN  0764206524  
EAN  9780764206528  

Availability  0 units.

Item Description...
Three courageous women seek a new start in life?and a chance at finding love?on the Nebraska frontier.

LAINA GRAY struggles to recover from a trauma inflicted by unimaginable circumstances... but the soldier longing to help her must first get beyond his own painful past.

CHARLOTTE VALENTINE returns to Fort Robinson desperate for a place of refuge?only to be thrown into the midst of new troubles and an onslaught of unexpected emotions.

JOSEPHINE HALE is forbidden to reveal her interest in the soldier who has captured her heart? because he wears the uniform of the enemy.

Buy Secrets on the Wind: Secrets on the Wind/Watchers on the Hill/Footprints on the Horizon (Pine Ridge Portraits Series 1-3) by Stephanie Whitson from our Christian Books store - isbn: 9780764206528 & 0764206524

The team at Christian Bookstore .Net welcome you to our Christian Book store! We offer the best selections of Christian Books, Bibles, Christian Music, Inspirational Jewelry and Clothing, Homeschool curriculum, and Church Supplies. We encourage you to purchase your copy of Secrets on the Wind: Secrets on the Wind/Watchers on the Hill/Footprints on the Horizon (Pine Ridge Portraits Series 1-3) by Stephanie Whitson today - and if you are for any reason not happy, you have 30 days to return it. Please contact us at 1-877-205-6402 if you have any questions.

More About Stephanie Whitson

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories
1Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Contemporary   [79254  similar products]
2Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > Historical   [11224  similar products]
3Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Fiction & Poetry > Fiction   [6815  similar products]
4Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Fiction > General   [6034  similar products]

Similar Products
Sixteen Brides
Sixteen Brides
Item: 684521

Reviews - What do our customers think?
Good read!  May 3, 2007
I really liked this book. It only took me about 5 days to read it (and that was with my time being limited by life being busy!!) I liked how it started, it caught my attention. I liked the end too, a little surprising. I thought the characters were realistic and interesting. I love this time period too, historical fiction is always fun! I think the book was easy to read and very enjoyable. If you like this book you would probably also like Treasures of the North by Tracie Peterson (also about the gold rush - but only in Canada).
Starts with a bang, ends with a fizzle...  Oct 7, 2006
Laina Gray is an ex-showboat singer sold into slavery by her unscrupulous father. Rescued by army officer Nathan Boone, she discovers a new life at the fort under the watchful eye of faithful Christian Granny Max. Will Laina escape her past or is it doomed to haunt her?

I enjoyed the first half of secrets of the wind. Laina is a truly likeable character and so is Granny max. Granny Max is the soul of the book, and so is Laina, and any scene with those two in it was heartwarming...

However, the preaching became quite heavy in the second half of the book, almost to the point where it was unenjoyable for this reader. I can handle it when it seems natural, but in many cases it seemed forced. Long discussions of characters faith or (lack therof) do not particularly excite me.

I also felt the author's depiction of male characters was pretty bland. Neither of the male characters (Beau or Nate) were particularly thrilling. Nate was a bit of a mary sue and Beau seemed like a loser to me. I found the romance between Laina and her chosen beau to be quite tepid. It seemed almost as though the last few chapters the author remembered it was a romance and tacked it on. The issue of rape recovery, childbirth, loss, and death are not particularly romantic subjects and these issues are being dealt with during the heroine's very brief 'courtship,' was a bit of a downer. I'd like to see Laina get a romance, but so soon after her ordeal didn't work out for me somehow.

3 stars. A little too much preaching and unappealing male characters, sloppy romance.
Great Fast Read  Oct 17, 2005
This is the first Christian "romance" book I have ever read, and was pleased that the Word of God was shared repeatedly throughout the book (KUDOS Stephanie) without sounding "preachy" or forced. A+ and how 'bout the hot girl on the cover!
Obviously an opening series winner!  Sep 14, 2004
Stephanie Grace Whitson has done it again with this one! Indians play a part, the Army an even larger part-- as well as various and sundry "orphans and abused victims" all of which sway the reader one way or the other.

She portrays Laina in a positive light in spite of her infamous and horrible past. Boone is a leader in the Army who just cannot move on past the death of his wife 2 years earlier. The reader gets geared for a relationship that keeps you guessing, wondering and finally letting out a big sigh of surprise. Everyone's hero is Granny Max, her faith,healing touch and counsel and patience never waver. Tears will spill over Granny in this book, trust me.

Another "little lamb" who is running is Jackson, a young soldier with a past. He has a temper and some habits that make you want to alternately shake him and hug him. Good job, Stephanie!

When Laina feels she has done it all, borne it all and is finally is on her way to recovery from her dugout ordeal and her earlier past, she finds out she is NOT disconnected yet, and will be asked to bear the ultimate humiliation. Can she-- in this small, close-knit community? She has a plan. Is it God's plan, though?

Whitson definitely has another winning series and I am out the door to purchase book number 2, thanks again Steph, for your courage and determination to keep love, history, Indians and Christ all woven throughout this book and most likely the rest of the series if I know you!
A tale that reveals unexpected treasures  Jan 7, 2004
Capturing a slice of history set in an outback U.S military post, the first book in the Pine Ridge Portraits series tells the story of three very different people who all want to make a new start in their lives. Saved from certain death, Laina struggles to overcome her hideous past and all the nightmares that resulted, with the gentle wisdom and support of Granny Max. Still reeling from the death of his wife two years earlier, Sergeant Nathan Boone endeavours to help Laina regain her footing, all the while unsure of how to move forward with his own life. And then someone who figured in both Laina and Nathan's past re-emerges with a new identity...
Stephanie Grace Whitson tells a story of hope and redemptive grace in the midst of 1870's Nebraska, bringing to life characters with heartache and determination. SECRETS ON THE WIND sets the pace for a gripping new series by this award-winning author. Recommended for fans of Janette Oke, Stephen Bly, Al and Joanna Lacy, Alan Morris and Gilbert Morris. ~~Ellie Schroder, owner of The Christian Fiction Site

Write your own review about Secrets on the Wind: Secrets on the Wind/Watchers on the Hill/Footprints on the Horizon (Pine Ridge Portraits Series 1-3)

Customer Support: 1-888-395-0572
Welcome to Christian Bookstore .Net

Our team at Christian Bookstore .Net would like to welcome you to our site. Our Christian book store features over 150,000 Christian products including Bibles, Christian music, Christian books, jewelry, church supplies, Christian gifts, Sunday school curriculum, purity rings, homeschool curriculum and many other items to encourage you in your walk with God. Our mission is to provide you with quality Christian resources that you can benefit from and share with others. The best part is that our complete selection of Christian books and supplies is offered at up to 20% off of retail price! Please call us if you have any questions or need assistance in ordering at 1-888-395-0572. Have a blessed day.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Customer Support