Christian Books, Bibles, Music & More - 1.888.395.0572
Call our Toll Free Number:
Find us on:
Follow Us On 

Twitter!   Join Us On Facebook!

Christian Bookstore .Net is a leading online Christian book store.

Shop Christian Books, Bibles, Jewelry, Church Supplies, Homeschool Curriculum & More!

New Testament Theology (Clarendon Paperbacks) [Paperback]

Our Price $ 107.67  
Item Number 160011  
Buy New $107.67

Item Specifications...

Pages   520
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.47" Width: 5.39" Height: 1.2"
Weight:   1.45 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Dec 28, 1995
Publisher   Oxford University Press
ISBN  0198263880  
EAN  9780198263883  

Availability  98 units.
Availability accurate as of Oct 22, 2016 01:25.
Usually ships within one to two business days from La Vergne, TN.
Orders shipping to an address other than a confirmed Credit Card / Paypal Billing address may incur and additional processing delay.

Clarendon Paperbacks - Full Series Preview
Image Title Price Stock Qty Add To Cart
  Discerning the Mystery PB   $ 58.00   In Stock  
  New Testament Theology (Clarendon Paperbacks)   $ 107.67   In Stock  
  The Thought of Thomas Aquinas   $ 91.64   In Stock  

Item Description...
This masterly presentation of New Testament Theology takes the unique step of setting up an imaginary debate amongst the various authors of the New Testament themselves. As central concepts (predestination, sin, atonement, the Church, sacrament, ethics, escathology, and christology) are "discussed" between such figures as Luke, Paul, John, and the author of Hebrews, the work moves to a climax with the presentation of the theology of Jesus himself. The result is a full discussion of the ideas which lie at the very heart of Christianity, deserving a place on the shelf of every serious pastor, theologian, and student of the Bible.

Publishers Description
This presentation of New Testament theology, completed since the author's death by Professor L.D. Hurst, takes the unique step of setting up an imaginary debate amongst the various authors of the New Testament themselves. As central concepts (predestination, sin, atonement, the Church, sacrament, ethics, eschatology and Christology) are discussed by such figures as Luke, Paul, John and the author of Hebrews, the work moves to its climax with a presentation of the theology of Jesus himself. The result provides a fresh and illuminating picture of ideas at the heart of Christianity.

Buy New Testament Theology (Clarendon Paperbacks) by G. B. Caird, L. D. Hurst & L. D. Hurst from our Christian Books store - isbn: 9780198263883 & 0198263880

The team at Christian Bookstore .Net welcome you to our Christian Book store! We offer the best selections of Christian Books, Bibles, Christian Music, Inspirational Jewelry and Clothing, Homeschool curriculum, and Church Supplies. We encourage you to purchase your copy of New Testament Theology (Clarendon Paperbacks) by G. B. Caird, L. D. Hurst & L. D. Hurst today - and if you are for any reason not happy, you have 30 days to return it. Please contact us at 1-877-205-6402 if you have any questions.

More About G. B. Caird, L. D. Hurst & L. D. Hurst

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo!

G.B. Caird was Professor of Exegesis of Holy Scripture at Oxford, UK.

George Bradford Caird was born in 1917.

George Bradford Caird has published or released items in the following series...

  1. Clarendon Paperbacks

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories
1Books > Subjects > History > Europe > England > General   [12141  similar products]
2Books > Subjects > History > Europe > England   [324  similar products]
3Books > Subjects > History > World > General   [35342  similar products]
4Books > Subjects > History > World   [1586  similar products]
5Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Reference > Criticism & Interpretation > New Testa   [1782  similar products]
6Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Reference > General   [10297  similar products]
7Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Reference > Theology > General   [4167  similar products]
8Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Theology > General   [8607  similar products]

Similar Products
The New Testament and the People of God (Christian Origins and the Question of God)
The New Testament and the People of God (Christian Origins and the Question of God)
Item: 51361

Paul: In Fresh Perspective
Paul: In Fresh Perspective
Item: 2212575

Reviews - What do our customers think?
Honestly deals with the text  Apr 20, 2005
Here is another NT theology book written from a moderate evangelical perspective. Caird follows in the tradition of Brevard Childs, James D. G. Dunn, and N. T. Wright. Though the author does try to draw out NT theological themes by going straight to the Bible, many strict conservative evangelicals will find many of Caird's arguments problematic. Caird develops his book by using a "conference method" where all the NT writers are at a table putting forth their respective views. This has the advantage of allowing the NT writers to speak with their own voices without modern dogmatic presuppositions. Caird also draws out the theology of the NT by using the theme of salvation as the "door hinge" to discuss other NT theological themes, dealing with the need of salvation, the experience of salvation, and the consummation of final salvation. Many will find this approach helpful, even though it may be limiting. Caird's discussion of the theology of Jesus (chapter 9) is very insightful. He discusses what he believes Jesus taught about the Kingdom, the Law, Israel and the nations, and himself. The only problem with this book is that Caird has fallen into the trap of allowing a socio-religious outlook to guide his exegesis (like Childs, Dunn, and Wright). This has the negative effect of blunting the evangelical message that Jesus Christ came down through a virgin birth, lived a perfect life, and died to remove the sins of the elect. Caird's approach is typical of those who try to "socialize" the Gospel (thus, many conservatives will not like some of Caird's conclusions). Overall though, it is a good book that contains lots of information on what the NT writers taught and preached.
While Caird's approach, style and format reflect an earlier time, his work is full of innovative ideas. He views N.T. Theology as a descriptive historical discipline, and his book includes a chapter on Jesus (as the focal point for the theology of the N.T. writers), and a chapter on Jesus' own theology.

From the outset it is clear that Caird sees the Christian faith as historical, and wishes to view it within it's historical 1st-century Jewish context: he sees God acting in and through the life and ministry of Jesus to bring man to the completed state for which he was created, to have dominion over the world.

Basically, the first four-fifths of his book deal with the divine plan of salvation. He shows that God created man for relation with Him, to image the divine nature, and to rule over creation. But through sin, man was no longer able to maintain a relation. God chose Israel to be the focal point for His action to redeem all mankind. The Torah served only a temporary and transient purpose of showing the kind of life modeled on a relation to God, to disciple man, but could not itself impower and enable man to reach full maturity.

God predestined man to be brought to completion through Christ. Jesus is given a relation to God and becomes the true man intended by God, and was given dominion over the world, as the second adam. Caird constantly stresses that we must view Jesus' relation to God in its stark human reality, and refrain from interpreting Jesus via the lens of later orthodoxy, however valid such claims may be.

Throughout his work, Caird deals with various themes and shows how the different N.T. writers deal with the subject. Also, Caird is constantly interpreting the key passages (e.g., Romans 7) and difficult themes (e.g., unforgiveable sin), and revealing the characteristic thought structure of the authors; all of which gives a cogency and unity to his treatment.

Caird offers ideas, material, and an approach that are presently being taken up by the Third Quest. In fact, N.T. Wright's major works can be seen as an extention of Caird's own. This book provides a general and broader frame of reference, and plenty of ideas and exegesis to make its own contribution to the current quest. It will stimulate and challenge....and give direction as well.


Write your own review about New Testament Theology (Clarendon Paperbacks)

Customer Support: 1-888-395-0572
Welcome to Christian Bookstore .Net

Our team at Christian Bookstore .Net would like to welcome you to our site. Our Christian book store features over 150,000 Christian products including Bibles, Christian music, Christian books, jewelry, church supplies, Christian gifts, Sunday school curriculum, purity rings, homeschool curriculum and many other items to encourage you in your walk with God. Our mission is to provide you with quality Christian resources that you can benefit from and share with others. The best part is that our complete selection of Christian books and supplies is offered at up to 20% off of retail price! Please call us if you have any questions or need assistance in ordering at 1-888-395-0572. Have a blessed day.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Customer Support