Christian Books, Bibles, Music & More - 1.888.395.0572
Call our Toll Free Number:
Find us on:
Follow Us On 

Twitter!   Join Us On Facebook!

Christian Bookstore .Net is a leading online Christian book store.

Shop Christian Books, Bibles, Jewelry, Church Supplies, Homeschool Curriculum & More!

My Soul Cries Out (Urban Christian) [Paperback]

Our Price $ 12.71  
Retail Value $ 14.95  
You Save $ 2.24  (15%)  
Item Number 103221  
Buy New $12.71
Out Of Stock!
Currently Out Of Stock

Item Specifications...

Pages   386
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 1" Width: 5.25" Height: 8.25"
Weight:   0.8 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Jul 1, 2007
Publisher   Urban Books
ISBN  1893196976  
EAN  9781893196971  

Availability  0 units.

Urban Christian - Full Series Preview
Image Title Price Stock Qty Add To Cart
  Sinsatiable (Urban Christian)   $ 12.71   In Stock  
  Be Careful What You Pray For   $ 12.71   In Stock  
  Losing It   $ 12.71   In Stock  
  An Inconvenient Friend   $ 12.71   In Stock  
  Forgiven (Urban Christian)   $ 12.71   In Stock  
  Flaws and All   $ 12.71   In Stock  
  My Mother's Child (Urban Christian)   $ 12.71   In Stock  
  Selling My Soul (Urban Christian)   $ 12.71   In Stock  
  Dance Into Destiny (Urban Christian)   $ 5.94   In Stock  
  A Woman's Worth   $ 12.71   In Stock  
  Prodigal (Urban Christian)   $ 12.71   In Stock  
  A Man's Worth (Urban Christian)   $ 13.16   In Stock  
  Divorcing the Devil   $ 12.71   In Stock  
  Dance to Destiny (Urban Christian)   $ 12.71   In Stock  
  His Woman, His Wife, His Widow (Urban Christian)   $ 11.01   In Stock  
  3:57 A.M. Timing Is Everything (Urban Christian)   $ 5.94   In Stock  
  Deliver Me From My Enemies (Urban Christian)   $ 12.71   In Stock  
  My Son's Wife (Urban Christian)   $ 13.16   In Stock  
  His Grace, His Mercy   $ 12.71   In Stock  
  Divorcing the Devil   $ 5.94   In Stock  

Item Description...
When she discovers her husband Kevin, the minister of music, in bed with another man, Monica Harris-Day turns to their pastor, Bishop Walker, for help, only to discover that he is not willing to risk the potential scandal and church division that would occur if the truth was exposed. Original.

Buy My Soul Cries Out (Urban Christian) by Sherri L. Lewis from our Christian Books store - isbn: 9781893196971 & 1893196976

The team at Christian Bookstore .Net welcome you to our Christian Book store! We offer the best selections of Christian Books, Bibles, Christian Music, Inspirational Jewelry and Clothing, Homeschool curriculum, and Church Supplies. We encourage you to purchase your copy of My Soul Cries Out (Urban Christian) by Sherri L. Lewis today - and if you are for any reason not happy, you have 30 days to return it. Please contact us at 1-877-205-6402 if you have any questions.

More About Sherri L. Lewis

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo!

Sherri Lewis has published or released items in the following series...
  1. Urban Christian

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories
1African American   [0  similar products]
2Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Contemporary   [79254  similar products]
3Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General   [15121  similar products]
4Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > Short Stories > United States   [1924  similar products]
5Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > World Literature > United States > African American > General   [1765  similar products]

Similar Products
Selling My Soul (Urban Christian)
Selling My Soul (Urban Christian)
Item: 907093

Dance to Destiny (Urban Christian)
Dance to Destiny (Urban Christian)
Item: 361072

Rain Storm (Urban Christian)
Rain Storm (Urban Christian)
Item: 750433

Reviews - What do our customers think?
Excellent Read  Jun 12, 2008
This is a pretty good book. It actually brought my own Christianity into question. I really don't know how I would handle the situation presented here, but I know it wouldn't be this way. I don't want to give the book away...let's just say it's interesting and worth reading.
Lewis is a talented new author who's breaking ground that's needed breaking for quite some time.  May 4, 2008
"The worst day of my life was the day I caught my husband cheating on me."

That alone would be enough to throw even a strong woman into a tailspin. But the fact that Monica Harris-Day finds her worship-leader husband cheating with another man is an even greater shock. How could she have been so blind and not seen the signs? Should she divorce him on the spot? And why is their mega-church pastor so quick to look the other way?

Monica faces an emotional tempest in My Soul Cries Out. As a Christian woman she wants to do the right thing in God's eyes, but it's hard to know what that is in an age when Christians either pretend homosexuality doesn't exist or cast the first stone. Just how are we supposed to react to situations like Monica's? Should we make those caught in this sin leave our churches? Should we pretend we don't know?

This is an edgy novel that compassionately deals with the issue of homosexuality in the church. There are no easy answers here, but by following Monica's journey readers will start asking themselves the right questions. And that's the first step toward understanding God's point of view. Why is it that some sins are treated worse than others in the church? Why do we condemn gays to hell but allow gossip and envy? A relevant topic indeed.

Ms. Lewis doesn't condone homosexuality in this novel. Sin is sin, and she makes sure we realize that. However, we're also shown both sides of the issue through the pain of Monica's husband.

Granted, there are scenes and phrases in the book you probably won't find in your Mom's Christian fiction. Sex is talked about openly several times. But even in those few eyebrow raising moments, you can tell Lewis took care not to push the envelope just because she could. Let's be honest. Homosexuality DOES stretch the limits as a topic for Christian fiction.

It's a heavy subject, but there are many lighter moments too, like Monica's initial obsession with "Ben & Larry's" ice cream and her subsequent health and fitness makeover, something all females will relate to. Monica is the woman next door dealing with some very real issues. She struggles. She falls. She gets back up again because she wants to please God.

In the vein of Claudia Mair Burney and Marilynn Griffith, My Soul Cries Out will be a breath of fresh air to those longing for a little more grit in their stories. Lewis is a talented new author who's breaking ground that's needed breaking for quite some time.

--Reviewed by C.J. Darlington for TitleTrakk
Utterly Speechless  Apr 9, 2008
I've read a dozen Urban Christian novels, and I have quite a few favorites. I just finished this book this right now is the best Urban Christian novel I've ever read!! From beginning to end, I was completely drawn to the characters and there were quite a few plot twists that kept me engaged the entire time. I recommend EVERY Christian (or soon to be Christian) to read this book. The author is truly anointed!!!
Awesome!  Mar 25, 2008
I have attempted to read quite a few Christian novels... only to become frustrated about how often they are unrealistic. The circumstances and actions of the characters in the novels that the authors write about are not "real people." I know it's fiction, but it helps to write about scenarios that average people experience and in a fiction setting it allow the reader to consider how the characters responded and perhaps gain some insight on how to go about dealing with those same issues in their own lives. This book is refreshingly real! Love the plot, characters, and the ending! Great author, can't wait to read more.
A Compelling Read  Mar 14, 2008
Sherry Lewis has bravely taken a sensitive subject, a controversial subject, a heartbreaking subject and woven a tale that will make every reader examine her own heart. Sherry has the gift of writing fiction that makes you think.

The main thread of the story is the devastation of a young Christian womam who discovers her husband is bisexual, something she never knew until she came home and found her husband cheating on her with another man.

Another thread is the corruption in this young couples church. Corruption in high places. Corruption in the very people who should be there to help them, to protect them.

My Soul Cries out is a must read. I highly recommend it.

Write your own review about My Soul Cries Out (Urban Christian)

Customer Support: 1-888-395-0572
Welcome to Christian Bookstore .Net

Our team at Christian Bookstore .Net would like to welcome you to our site. Our Christian book store features over 150,000 Christian products including Bibles, Christian music, Christian books, jewelry, church supplies, Christian gifts, Sunday school curriculum, purity rings, homeschool curriculum and many other items to encourage you in your walk with God. Our mission is to provide you with quality Christian resources that you can benefit from and share with others. The best part is that our complete selection of Christian books and supplies is offered at up to 20% off of retail price! Please call us if you have any questions or need assistance in ordering at 1-888-395-0572. Have a blessed day.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Customer Support