Christian Books, Bibles, Music & More - 1.888.395.0572
Call our Toll Free Number:
Find us on:
Follow Us On 

Twitter!   Join Us On Facebook!

Christian Bookstore .Net is a leading online Christian book store.

Shop Christian Books, Bibles, Jewelry, Church Supplies, Homeschool Curriculum & More!

Gilead: A Novel [Paperback]

Our Price $ 13.60  
Retail Value $ 16.00  
You Save $ 2.40  (15%)  
Item Number 424041  
Buy New $13.60

Item Specifications...

Pages   247
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.18" Width: 5.62" Height: 0.66"
Weight:   0.5 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Jan 1, 2006
ISBN  031242440X  
EAN  9780312424404  

Availability  171 units.
Availability accurate as of Oct 23, 2016 10:20.
Usually ships within one to two business days from La Vergne, TN.
Orders shipping to an address other than a confirmed Credit Card / Paypal Billing address may incur and additional processing delay.

Item Description...
As the Reverend John Ames approaches the hour of his own death, he writes a letter to his son chronicling three previous generations of his family, a story that stretches back to the Civil War and reveals uncomfortable secrets about the family of preachers. Reader's Guide available. Reprint.

Publishers Description
Twenty-four years after her first novel, "Housekeeping," Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" ("Slate"). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life. "Gilead "is the winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

Buy Gilead: A Novel by Marilynne Robinson from our Christian Books store - isbn: 9780312424404 & 031242440X

The team at Christian Bookstore .Net welcome you to our Christian Book store! We offer the best selections of Christian Books, Bibles, Christian Music, Inspirational Jewelry and Clothing, Homeschool curriculum, and Church Supplies. We encourage you to purchase your copy of Gilead: A Novel by Marilynne Robinson today - and if you are for any reason not happy, you have 30 days to return it. Please contact us at 1-877-205-6402 if you have any questions.

More About Marilynne Robinson

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo!

MARILYNNE ROBINSON is the author of the novel Gilead and two books of nonfiction, Mother Country and The Death of Adam. She teaches at the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop.

Marilynne Robinson currently resides in Iowa City, in the state of Iowa. Marilynne Robinson has an academic affiliation as follows - University of Iowa.

Marilynne Robinson has published or released items in the following series...
  1. Modern Library of the World's Best Books
  2. Terry Lectures (Paperback)

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories
1Books > Subjects > Literature & Fiction > General > Literary   [0  similar products]
2Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Christian Living > General   [31520  similar products]

Similar Products
That Distant Land: The Collected Stories
That Distant Land: The Collected Stories
Item: 395196

Reviews - What do our customers think? the superb writing of Ms. Robinson AND splendid reading by Mr. Jerome  May 12, 2010
Every author who agrees to allow his or her book to be offered in an audio version yearns desperately for a "split-apart" - that uncommon voice who can communicate exactly what the author is expressing. The marriage of Marilynne Robinson and Tim Jerome is just such a combination. This is one of the finest audiobooks that I have ever listened to. Tim Jerome voices the role of a 76 year old minister writing an extended letter to his young son about the meaning of life - his life, his mother's life, his grandfather's life. What was important (such as a journey to find the grandfather's grave in Kansas) to what was unimportant. The joys of writing sermons and in giving blessings or in baptizing infants. Of being there for people living their daily lives and routine struggles. Of disputing the meaning of violence with his father who joined the abolitionist cause in Kansas during the era of John Brown. Of the meaning of the 5th Commandment (Honor thy Mother and Father). The discussions reminded me of Sidney Poitier's recent book "The Measure of a Man." In summary, it is a book about meditations...And so I recommend it to those who are willing to listen and learn from an old, wise voice.
On so many levels, this is just a really good book  Apr 12, 2010
[Almost] too good to taint with my feeble review. The book is the diary of an old, dying pastor written to his young son. Lots of good drama; lots of good life lessons. In a way, I'm sure the author intended this as well, it's a parable on the the parable of the prodigal son. Can't wait to read it again and likewise read its companion Home: A Novel.
zzzzzzz.......  Apr 3, 2010
Short and to the point: The only way I made it to the end of this book was because it was a bookclub selection, and because I listened to the audiobook (borrowed from the library, thank goodness). Otherwise it would be in the recycle bin.

Maybe some people think this type of writing equates to some type of genius, but I beg to differ. Nothing of any consequence happens in this book, nothing at all. No difference was made. No revelations. Imagine never leaving your small town then writing about it. Just shoot me, it would be less painful than this book! This is by far the worst book I have ever endured. Zero stars. I found myself yelling while listening: "Who CARES?"
Gilead  Mar 26, 2010
This was my book club selection, and I found it interesting because it was written as a series of letters from a minister to his son. It took place in the late 1800's and just getting used to how ministers think was unusual for me. But I learned a lot. I'm now reading it for the second time because I've been told that I'll appreciate it more with the second reading
Prepare to be moved, and keep the Kleenex close at hand  Mar 22, 2010
Poignant, heart-rending, intimate, deeply moving - "Gilead" is all of these things and so much more. A richly deserving winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for fiction, "Gilead" is a brilliant execution of what most readers would consider to be a potentially boring premise: an epistolary novel from a dying pastor to his young son in a dying 1950s Iowa small town. The momentous, historical events in the novel are described in recollection, and the present day plot is far from a potboiler. Yet "Gilead" succeeds brilliantly.

Marilynne Robinson succeeds because she delves very deeply into the mind and heart of her main subject, the small-town pastor. He is a true-believer Christian, even in the face of skepticism, agnosticism and atheism from his older brother and his namesake godchild, and his own father's abandonment of the Iowa small town. One of the most moving aspects of "Gilead" is the pastor's many examples and descriptions of Christian love, and how he reconciles events and people's behavior with the Christian belief system.

But "Gilead" is much more than an obvious choice for the Christian book-of-the-month club. Beneath the pastoral setting of small-town Iowa life, there are many struggles and conflicts. Surprisingly, considering the epistolary novel format, Robinson is able to explore them in considerable depth. It helps that the main character is someone to whom people open their hearts and confess their sins, and is also someone given to reflection and concern about others. But mostly it is due to Robinson's considerable skills as an author.

"Gilead" is just Robinson's second fictional book, after a gap of a quarter century. Given the care with which it was written, and the craftsmanship exhibited throughout, it appears that Robinson has been working on it for quite some time. I am glad that the Pulitzer committee gave it the recognition that it deserves, and I hope that more people read "Gilead". It is an excellent example of what an out-of-the-ordinary novel can achieve.

Write your own review about Gilead: A Novel

Customer Support: 1-888-395-0572
Welcome to Christian Bookstore .Net

Our team at Christian Bookstore .Net would like to welcome you to our site. Our Christian book store features over 150,000 Christian products including Bibles, Christian music, Christian books, jewelry, church supplies, Christian gifts, Sunday school curriculum, purity rings, homeschool curriculum and many other items to encourage you in your walk with God. Our mission is to provide you with quality Christian resources that you can benefit from and share with others. The best part is that our complete selection of Christian books and supplies is offered at up to 20% off of retail price! Please call us if you have any questions or need assistance in ordering at 1-888-395-0572. Have a blessed day.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Customer Support