Christian Books, Bibles, Music & More - 1.888.395.0572
Call our Toll Free Number:
Find us on:
Follow Us On 

Twitter!   Join Us On Facebook!

Christian Bookstore .Net is a leading online Christian book store.

Shop Christian Books, Bibles, Jewelry, Church Supplies, Homeschool Curriculum & More!

Finding Palestine: One American's Trek from the Midwest to the Middle East [Paperback]

By Liza Elliott (Author)
Our Price $ 15.26  
Retail Value $ 17.95  
You Save $ 2.69  (15%)  
Item Number 125449  
Buy New $15.26
Out Of Stock!
Discontinued - Out Of Print
The manufacturer has discontinued this product and no longer offers it for sale. We are unable to obtain more stock.

Item Specifications...

Pages   248
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 8.42" Width: 5.52" Height: 0.66"
Weight:   0.81 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Feb 15, 2002
Publisher   Hope Publishing House
ISBN  0932727972  
EAN  9780932727978  

Availability  0 units.

Item Description...
Hope Publishing House In 1948 Secretary of State George Marshall told President Truman he'd not vote for the president's re-election should he recognize Israel--and warned that the establishment of a Jewish state in Palestine would lead to war. More than 50 years later, war rages on, with America giving $3 billion annually in aid to Israel. Has America's one-sided policy led to terrorism on all sides? Liza Elliott, Ph.D explains here the ways the truth about the Middle East has been covered up--and runs contrary to everything Americans have learned. This book examines what politicians don't want you to know about U.S. foreign policy in the Middle East and the reason Palestinian children find martyrdom attractive. She also discusses ways America has derailed the Palestinian statehood and supported ethnic and religious cleansing--while sidestepping the Geneva Convention. Dr. Elliott describes what life is like inside the occupied territories where America spends $10 million a day to push Palestinians off their land.

Buy Finding Palestine: One American's Trek from the Midwest to the Middle East by Liza Elliott from our Christian Books store - isbn: 9780932727978 & 0932727972

The team at Christian Bookstore .Net welcome you to our Christian Book store! We offer the best selections of Christian Books, Bibles, Christian Music, Inspirational Jewelry and Clothing, Homeschool curriculum, and Church Supplies. We encourage you to purchase your copy of Finding Palestine: One American's Trek from the Midwest to the Middle East by Liza Elliott today - and if you are for any reason not happy, you have 30 days to return it. Please contact us at 1-877-205-6402 if you have any questions.

More About Liza Elliott

Register your artisan biography and upload your photo! A graduate nurse with a Ph.D. in sociology, Dr. Elliott has worked extensively as a consultant in the Middle East with the Red Crescent Society ever since encountering war in Beirut in 1982. Currently she is active in many organizations trying to promote international peace. She is also an adjunct professor at the University of Alabama,
Birmingham where she lectures on refugee health care.

Liza Elliott currently resides in Birmingham. Liza Elliott was born in 1954.

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories
1Books > Subjects > History > Asia   [559  similar products]
2Books > Subjects > History > Middle East > General   [2906  similar products]
3Books > Subjects > History > Middle East > Israel   [1452  similar products]
4Books > Subjects > History > World > General   [35342  similar products]
5Books > Subjects > History > World   [1586  similar products]
6Books > Subjects > Nonfiction > Politics > Globalization   [1764  similar products]
7Books > Subjects > Nonfiction > Politics > International > Relations   [6106  similar products]
8Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity > Christian Living > General   [31520  similar products]

Reviews - What do our customers think?
This book is an engaging blend of personal narrative and political instruction, one that's difficult to put down. In the tradition of Diane McWhorter's CARRY ME HOME, Dr. Elliott teaches us things we don't know while at the same time making sure we remember that she is a human being, journeying through territory and time, actually feeling what she is learning. I wish other historians would follow these examples and show us the human face of a very daunting, sometimes abstract, always complicated subject. The Middle East is mysterious to Americans, only because we haven't lived there, visited there, loved and felt there. Once you've visited Elliott's world, you feel you can't return to comfortable complacency in front of the television set. All the right questions are being asked in this little book and thankfully, unlike so many other works on this subject, it never turns into a rant. Dr. Elliott remains confused about what she has learned. It is that state of confusion that leaves the door open to more learning, and more learning is what we all could use. The Middle East is not just a bunch of territorial barbarians, not merely a horde of religious zealots, not just a group of intolerant boundary-holders and conquerors. The Middle East is filled with people who aspire to decent, peaceful lives, if their leaders and our leaders would put all of us first and leave the strutting and sabre-rattling to a previous century. Dr. Elliott and others who have opened their eyes to a new reality have much to teach us.
--Jim Reed, author, DAD'S TWEED COAT Learn more at his website:
Best book on the Mid East  Jul 7, 2002
Liza Elliott's book is one of the best books on the Middle East crisis out there. After reading this book, you get a sense of what's really happening in Palestine, who the Palestinians are, what their aspirations are, and why do they act the way they do. This book dispels the myths that Palestinians are terroritsts. It puts a human face on them and explains that not only are they NOT the terrorists, but that THEY are the ones being terrorized! Elliott writes about them in such a loving way that we can't help but get to know the Palestinians and sympathize with their struggle to just be left alone to live life. Elliott is a writer with depth and insight and a style of writing that keeps you turning the pages. A must to read for those who are confused about the Palestinian-Israeli conflict.
Highly recommended  Apr 20, 2002
This book is about an American woman and her journey of self-discovery. Liza Elliott, a nurse who was on a work trip with the Palestinian Red Crescent, ends up stranded in the area during an un-anticipated Israeli invasion. She is recounting her eye-witness experience of the life of the Palestinian people under opccupation in the refugee camps. During her presence, she witnesses the birth of the Palestinian "Intifadah" or awakening. This intense experience sparks her own personal intifadah. She describes her journey of internal growth and her newly found inner strength. Liza Elliott also touches on the background and history of the Palestinian-Israeli conflict. This book is an inspiring woman's journey of self-discovery. I highly recommend it.

Write your own review about Finding Palestine: One American's Trek from the Midwest to the Middle East

Customer Support: 1-888-395-0572
Welcome to Christian Bookstore .Net

Our team at Christian Bookstore .Net would like to welcome you to our site. Our Christian book store features over 150,000 Christian products including Bibles, Christian music, Christian books, jewelry, church supplies, Christian gifts, Sunday school curriculum, purity rings, homeschool curriculum and many other items to encourage you in your walk with God. Our mission is to provide you with quality Christian resources that you can benefit from and share with others. The best part is that our complete selection of Christian books and supplies is offered at up to 20% off of retail price! Please call us if you have any questions or need assistance in ordering at 1-888-395-0572. Have a blessed day.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Customer Support