Christian Books, Bibles, Music & More - 1.888.395.0572
Call our Toll Free Number:
Find us on:
Follow Us On 

Twitter!   Join Us On Facebook!

Christian Bookstore .Net is a leading online Christian book store.

Shop Christian Books, Bibles, Jewelry, Church Supplies, Homeschool Curriculum & More!

Christmas in Plains: Memories [Paperback]

By Jimmy Carter & Amy Carter (Illustrator)
Our Price $ 8.50  
Retail Value $ 10.00  
You Save $ 1.50  (15%)  
Item Number 53039  
Buy New $8.50

Item Specifications...

Pages   155
Est. Packaging Dimensions:   Length: 7.02" Width: 5.12" Height: 0.47"
Weight:   0.36 lbs.
Binding  Softcover
Release Date   Oct 1, 2004
Publisher   Simon & Schuster
ISBN  0743227158  
EAN  9780743227155  

Availability  1 units.
Availability accurate as of Oct 23, 2016 06:21.
Usually ships within one to two business days from La Vergne, TN.
Orders shipping to an address other than a confirmed Credit Card / Paypal Billing address may incur and additional processing delay.

Item Description...
The former president continues his account of his early boyhood years, recalling the Christmas holidays of his youth and later years and recreating the simplicity of community and celebration with friends and family.

Publishers Description
In this acclaimed bestseller, President Carter returns to his early years in Plains, Georgia, the same locale that enchanted readers of An Hour Before Daylight, which The New Yorker called "an American classic." He remembers the Christmas days of his boyhood and later years, re-creating here the simplicity of community and celebration with family and friends.

Jimmy Carter has written another American classic in the tradition of Truman Capote's A Christmas Memory and Dylan Thomas's A Child's Christmas in Wales.

Buy Christmas in Plains: Memories by Jimmy Carter & Amy Carter from our Christian Books store - isbn: 9780743227155 & 0743227158

The team at Christian Bookstore .Net welcome you to our Christian Book store! We offer the best selections of Christian Books, Bibles, Christian Music, Inspirational Jewelry and Clothing, Homeschool curriculum, and Church Supplies. We encourage you to purchase your copy of Christmas in Plains: Memories by Jimmy Carter & Amy Carter today - and if you are for any reason not happy, you have 30 days to return it. Please contact us at 1-877-205-6402 if you have any questions.

More About Jimmy Carter & Amy Carter

Jimmy Carter Jimmy Carter was the 39th President of the United States, author of numerous books, teacher at Emory University, founder of the Carter Center, and the recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize. Carter worked with Emory University to establish the Carter Center, a nongovernmental, nonprofit organization advances human rights and alleviates human suffering in seventy-five countries worldwide.

Carter is the only U.S. President to receive the Nobel Peace Prize after leaving office.

Jimmy Carter currently resides in Plains, in the state of Georgia. Jimmy Carter was born in 1924 and has an academic affiliation as follows - Miller Center of Public Affairs.

Jimmy Carter has published or released items in the following series...
  1. Library of Contemporary Thought
  2. Newmarket Words Of...(Paperback)
  3. Religions
  4. Rhetoric and Society

Are You The Artisan or Author behind this product?
Improve our customers experience by registering for an Artisan Biography Center Homepage.

Product Categories
1Books > Subjects > Biographies & Memoirs > General   [38596  similar products]
2Books > Subjects > Biographies & Memoirs > Leaders & Notable People > Presidents & Heads of State   [1054  similar products]
3Books > Subjects > Biographies & Memoirs > Memoirs   [10747  similar products]
4Books > Subjects > Biographies & Memoirs > People, A-Z > ( C ) > Carter, Jimmy   [31  similar products]
5Books > Subjects > Biographies & Memoirs > Regional U.S. > South   [238  similar products]
6Books > Subjects > Religion & Spirituality > Authors, A-Z > ( C ) > Carter, Jimmy   [43  similar products]

Similar Products
The Virtues of Aging
The Virtues of Aging
Item: 158658

Sharing Good Times
Sharing Good Times
Item: 4185614

Living Faith
Living Faith
Item: 140466

Reviews - What do our customers think?
The same Christmas Memories For All  Dec 17, 2004
Just sit back and enjoy. We all have these memories wether we are rich or poor, powerful or not. Just how we remember Christmas back home. Warm, endearing and easy to read, maybe somethings you know and some you did'nt. This should be a Christmas tradition.
The Human Side of America's 39th President  Jan 28, 2004
I had the privilege and honor of meeting President Carter at the University of Washington, where he signed a copy of this book for me. "Christmas in Plains" is a wonderful book that approaches autobiography in a new and interesting way: Jimmy Carter reflects on his life as a series of holiday seasons. We see the triumphs and the failures in eloquent and honest prose.

History will remember Jimmy Carter as a compassionate human being with a genuine desire to help others. This book would make the perfect holiday gift. After all, what better values truly embody the holiday spirit than compassion and love?

Christmas Joy from the Carters  Dec 23, 2003
The short, joyful book contains Jimmy Carter memories of Christmas. His earliest memories begin around 1930 (when he was 5), and involve memories of father Earl and mother Lillian, as well as black neighbors (in an era of separation, his family perhaps represented a light in the South). There are happy childhood memories of finding the Christmas tree and fireworks. Jimmy and Rosalynn always tried to get back to Plains, but there are included a few absent remembrance from Navy years, and a rather tense Christmas with the holding of the Iran hostages. The line drawings by daughter Amy add a family charm to the book. May the Carter's have many more Merry Christmases together in Plains.
Life in Plains, Acommunity in  Apr 16, 2002
This is another of Jimmy Carter's books of God and his values. Jimmy is a good man and writes something that will not electrify you. This is part of his autobiography from Plains, the village or small town in Georgia where he remembered the good things when was a boy and always returned to Plains with his family to spend time with his mother and his wife's mother for Christmas. His father passed on earlier from cancer during this period.

He graduated from Annapolis, spent a long tour in the Navy, elected for two terms as state senator and then to the Governor of Georgia, before being elected President of the USA. He married Rosalynn, a childhood sweetheart, during his time in the Navy and they had three sons. He now has six grandchildren, at the last count.

After that, Jimmy and Rosalynn returned to Georgia. After founding the Atlanta-based Carter Center he is devoting the rest of time writing and doing good for all the world's people.

It's O.K.  Jan 22, 2002
This book was not half as detailed as "An hour before daylight," which I thought was great! Daylight also has photographs, this one does not, and the artwork in this is uninspired (sorry Amy). I just didn't find enough Christmas feeling in this book to suit me. I would recommend redoing this one, enlarging it to include Rosalyn's perspective with photographs. Maybe some input from more members of the family. And I would like to see some enthusiasm, excitement and humor in Amy's art.

Write your own review about Christmas in Plains: Memories

Customer Support: 1-888-395-0572
Welcome to Christian Bookstore .Net

Our team at Christian Bookstore .Net would like to welcome you to our site. Our Christian book store features over 150,000 Christian products including Bibles, Christian music, Christian books, jewelry, church supplies, Christian gifts, Sunday school curriculum, purity rings, homeschool curriculum and many other items to encourage you in your walk with God. Our mission is to provide you with quality Christian resources that you can benefit from and share with others. The best part is that our complete selection of Christian books and supplies is offered at up to 20% off of retail price! Please call us if you have any questions or need assistance in ordering at 1-888-395-0572. Have a blessed day.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Customer Support